Sample Rate and Bit Depth in the Digital Audio World

In the world of digital music production, there are many technical aspects that are often taken for granted, yet have a critical impact on the final product. Two of these often overlooked yet critical elements are sample rate and bit depth. They are the invisible architects that significantly influence the quality of the music.
Table of contents

When people start making music, the first thing they deal with is learning the DAW, the different effects like equalizer or compressor, recording, writing MIDI... But only a few people deal with the concepts of sample rate and bit depth.

And yet these are two such important aspects of the digital audio world that are not really difficult to understand - and once you do, life will be a lot easier, at least when it comes to exporting your projects. Or importing samples into your project.

Part of the blame lies with modern DAWs like Ableton Live, which make the concept of sample rate and bit depth so simple that producers don't even have to think about it - because Live automatically converts the audio files to the project's sample rate without prompting. In Pro Tools, for example, you have to actively convert samples before you can even import them.

To understand the concept, we must first look at the process of converting analog audio signals to digital audio signals.

What is digital audio?

Digital audio is sound that has been recorded in a digital format. This means that the audio signal is represented by a sequence of numbers that can be stored and processed by digital devices such as computers, digital audio players, and digital audio workstations.

In digital audio, the sound wave of the audio signal is sampled (recorded) at regular intervals and a digital value is assigned to each sample. This process is called analog-to-digital conversion (ADC).

How sound waves are converted from analog to digital
How sound waves are converted from analog to digital

The quality of digital audio signals is determined by two factors: the sample rate (how many samples are recorded per second) and the bit depth (how much information is stored in each sample).

Keep reading: ADAT - All about the interface in digital audio devices

What exactly is the sampling rate?

The digital sample rate indicates how many times per second the analog signal is sampled to create a digital signal. The higher the sample rate, the more "accurately" (i.e., more often) the signal is sampled. However, it also requires more memory because more information is stored.

The sketch clearly shows the difference of a higher sample rate
The sketch clearly shows the difference of a higher sample rate

The sample rate is specified in kHz and can be set in your DAW. If you're connecting multiple interfaces or other digital audio devices, you'll need to set them all to the same sample rate-but most USB and Thunderbolt audio interfaces automatically adjust their sample rate to match that of your DAW.

The following sample rates are typically available: 44.1 kHz, 48 kHz, 96 kHz, 192 kHz. These numbers are not chosen at random, but for a reason.

44.1 kHz

This sample rate was chosen for the Compact Disc (CD) format in the late 1970s. The reason for this choice is a bit complicated. It has to do with the highest frequency that can be accurately reproduced (the Nyquist frequency, which is half the sample rate).

The highest frequency most people can hear is about 20 kHz, so a 40 kHz sample rate would theoretically be sufficient. However, a filter is used to avoid aliasing, and this filter is not perfect - it needs a transition bandwidth. Therefore, 44.1 kHz is chosen instead of 40 kHz to give the filter some room.

The video technology of the time (used in the mastering process for CDs) had a standard of 13.5 MHz, and 44.1 kHz is 1/294 of that frequency, which made it a practical choice that met the technical requirements.

48 kHz

This sample rate has become the standard for audio in professional video production, including digital television, digital video, DVD, and digital film sound. The exact reason for choosing 48 kHz is not entirely clear, but it is likely that it is a higher frequency that still allows for a reasonable amount of data storage and processing power, and provides slightly more room for anti-aliasing filters than 44.1 kHz.

96 kHz and 192 kHz

These are simply multiples of 48 kHz and are used in high-resolution audio formats. The idea is that higher sampling rates can reproduce higher frequencies and provide a more accurate representation of the original analog signal. However, it is debatable whether these higher frequencies are actually audible to the human ear.

Also interesting: The 8 best microphones for rappers and singers in 2023

Which sample rate is the right one for me?

Choosing the right sample rate depends on several factors:

  1. 44.1 kHz: If you are producing music for CD or your recordings are primarily for streaming on the Internet, 44.1 kHz is a good choice. This is the standard sampling rate for CDs and most online music distribution platforms.
  2. 48 kHz: If you are producing audio for video, 48 kHz is the default sample rate. This is also a common sampling rate for podcasts and audiobooks.
  3. 96 kHz or 192 kHz: If you are producing high-resolution audio, such as for Blu-ray or special high-end audio releases, you may want to consider one of these higher sampling rates. However, recording in these formats requires so much memory and processing power that it's not worth it for most applications.
44.1 kHz48 kHz96 kHz192 kHz
100 MB109 MB218 MB436 MB
500 MB545 MB1.09 GB2.18 GB
1 GB1.09 GB2.18GB4.36GB
This is the size of the same audio file in the different sample rates.

I recommend all music producers and sound engineers to always work in 48kHz because it is a good compromise between quality and computing power. Theoretically, 44.1kHz is perfectly sufficient, because CDs and Spotify & Co. run in 44.1kHz anyway, but you are simply more flexible, because you can always downsample from 48kHz to 44.1kHz later - the other way around is not possible.

Can you hear the difference at higher sampling rates?

This is a very controversial topic in the audio world - the fact is that the human ear can only hear up to 20 kHz anyway, and 44.1 kHz is perfectly adequate. In some cases, higher sample rates can be advantageous in audio processing, but in the finished mix there is no audible difference to 44.1 kHz.

Is it worth using higher sample rates?

In certain cases, it can be worthwhile, but I would not recommend recording a complete, large project at 192 kHz because the storage requirements would be enormous. But there are certain cases where it can actually be advantageous.

Normally, when a 44.1 kHz sample is pitched down, most of the sample's high frequencies are lost, since above 22.1 kHz there is no information left to pitch down to fill the new gap in the highs anyway.

However, if the sample has a sampling rate of 96kHz, it contains information of up to 48kHz - and even more high frequencies are preserved when the sample is pitched down, as these "ultra-high" frequencies then fill the 15-20kHz range.

What is the bit depth?

The bit depth indicates how many possible dynamic values can be recorded for each sample. The higher the bit depth, the more accurately the dynamics of the song are recorded. It measures the resolution or accuracy with which the original analog audio is being digitized.

The difference between 8 bit and 16 bit - a much higher resolution
The difference between 8 bit and 16 bit - a much higher resolution

In practice, the most common bit depths in digital audio recording are 16 bit and 24 bit.

  • 16 bit (65,536 values): This is the standard bit depth for CDs and many digital audio formats. A 16-bit bit depth allows for a theoretical dynamic range of about 96 decibels (dB). This means that the loudest signal that can be recorded is about 96 dB louder than the softest audible signal.
  • 24 bits (16,777,216 values): This is the standard bit depth for professional audio recording and some high-resolution audio formats. A 24-bit bit depth allows for a theoretical dynamic range of about 144 dB, which is far beyond what the human ear can actually hear. This means that more detail can be preserved in the quiet parts of a recording that you might not hear directly, but only when you turn up the volume. This gives you more leeway when editing and mixing - you don't have to record as "loud" as you used to because the noise is so low.

The problem, however, is that the digital wave can never be 100% the shape of the analog wave, regardless of bit depth. When we convert real sounds to a digital format, we try to capture a smooth, flowing sound wave with a series of individual values. But sometimes the exact value we need is not available, so we have to round down to the nearest value. This process is called quantization.

This is what quantization looks like when an analog audio signal is converted to a digital signal.
This is what quantization looks like when an analog audio signal is converted to a digital signal.

This rounding off introduces a little bit of randomness into the digital sound. We hear this randomness as a very soft background noise, similar to the soft hiss you can hear in a quiet room. This is called background noise.

Sometimes the way we sample the sound can create repeating patterns in the noise that make it more noticeable at certain frequencies. This is called correlated noise.

To avoid these patterns, we can add an additional random variable when rounding the values. This process is called dithering and it helps spread the noise more evenly and make it less noticeable.

The level of this background noise determines the quietest sound we can record - because our signal must always be louder than the background noise to keep it clean.

On the other hand, there is a limit to how loud we can record before it starts to distort. This area between the softest and the loudest sound is the dynamic range mentioned earlier.

What kind of bit depth do I need?

24-bit is very convenient for recording because you don't have to worry about levels. The dynamic range is so wide and the noise floor is so low that you can easily record at -15dB because you can just add a lot of volume later. And you make sure that the signal is not distorted.

In the past, with 16-bit recorders, you always had to be careful to record as loud as possible so that the background noise was not audible - and then there was always the risk of clipping. With 24-bit, this problem no longer exists.

So you should always record and work in 24 bit, but when the song is mastered, you should export the final master in 16 bit as this is the standard for CDs and streaming services.

Can you hear the difference between 16 bit and 24 bit?

No, you can't hear the difference when you listen to a finished mastered track. There are very few pieces of music that have a dynamic range greater than 96dB (maybe classical music), so it doesn't make sense to offer a larger dynamic range anyway.

Finished pop, rock, R&B, hip-hop, and country music tends to have a relatively modest dynamic range - typically around 10 dB - so theoretically 8 bits would be sufficient. This is partly because the music is heavily compressed during production (with compressors or limiters), which reduces the dynamic range of the song.

This is why all streaming services still use 16 bit - and of course for space reasons. The only advantage of 24-bit over 16-bit is the increased dynamic range, which results in a lower noise floor during recording.

So what is the best combination of sample rate and bit depth?

For music production, a sampling rate of 48 kHz at a bit depth of 24 bits is recommended as a good compromise between quality and file size. This gives you a very wide dynamic range to work with and a virtually unlimited frequency range up to 24 kHz - far more than we can actually hear.

This gives us all the options we need to export to any media later - and our final audio file that we take to the streaming platforms should be 44.1 kHz at 16 bits. That's the format that streaming services and CDs expect.

Share this article

We independently research, test, review and recommend the best products. If you buy something through our links, we may receive a commission.

Ad

Table of contents

Subscribe to our newsletter and never miss a thing!

Gear
Find us on Youtube!
YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

More articles

Table of contents

More articles
News
Analysis: The most popular song lyrics worldwide
Which song lyrics are most frequently searched for worldwide? We investigated this question with intensive research and analysed which song lyrics are most frequently searched for on Google.
Read More →
News
Research: The world's most played songs and riffs
Which songs do musicians around the world want to play the most? We investigated this exciting question and researched which song chords and guitar riffs are most popular worldwide.
Read More →
The best German cities for musicians
For artists
Study: The best German cities for musicians
Which German city is the best place for musicians to live? We looked into this question and conducted a study of the 40 largest cities in Germany
Read More →
Gear
Ranked: Which electric guitars hold their value the best?
We have analysed the used prices of the 40 best-selling electric guitars and compared them with the new prices. We show which electric guitars sell for the most on the second-hand market and which ...
Read More →
For artists
The most popular synthesizer brands by country
We have analysed the Google search queries of the 6 most popular synthesizer brands in 118 countries and evaluated the results. The results are very interesting and show, above all, ...
Read More →
The best reverb pedals
Gear
The best reverb pedals for guitarists and producers
A reverb pedal can add incredible depth to the guitar and enrich the sound enormously. Regardless of whether your amplifier already has a built-in reverb or not ...
Read More →

Abtastrate (Sample Rate) und Bittiefe (Bit Depth) in der digitalen Audiowelt

In der Welt der digitalen Musikproduktion gibt es viele technische Aspekte, die oft als selbstverständlich hingenommen werden, aber dennoch einen entscheidenden Einfluss auf das Endprodukt haben. Zwei dieser oft übersehenen, aber dennoch kritischen Elemente sind die Samplerate und die Bittiefe. Sie sind die unsichtbaren Architekten, die die Qualität der Musik maßgeblich beeinflussen.
Inhaltsverzeichnis

Wenn man mit der Musikproduktion beginnt, beschäftigt man sich zunächst mit dem Erlernen der DAW, den verschiedenen Effekten wie Equalizer oder Kompressor, dem Aufnehmen, dem Schreiben von MIDI… Aber nur wenige beschäftigen sich mit den Begriffen Samplerate und Bittiefe.

Und dabei sind das zwei so wichtige Aspekte in der digitalen Audiowelt, die nicht wirklich schwer zu verstehen sind – und wenn du sie einmal verstanden hast, wird dir das Leben sehr viel leichter fallen, spätestens beim Exportieren deiner Projekte. Oder beim Importieren von Samples in dein Projekt.

Ein Teil der Schuld liegt bei modernen DAWs wie Ableton Live, die das Konzept von Samplerate (Abtastrate) und Bittiefe so einfach machen, dass sich Produzenten damit gar nicht mehr auseinandersetzen müssen – denn Live konvertiert die Audiodateien automatisch auf die Samplerate des Projekts, ohne darauf hinzuweisen. Bei Pro Tools zum Beispiel muss man die Samples aktiv konvertieren, bevor man sie überhaupt importieren kann.

Um das Konzept zu verstehen, müssen wir uns zunächst den Umwandlungsprozess von analogen Audiosignalen in digitale Audiosignale ansehen.

Was ist digital Audio?

Digitales Audio ist Ton, der in einem digitalen Format aufgezeichnet wurde. Das bedeutet, dass das Audiosignal durch eine Folge von Zahlen dargestellt wird, die von digitalen Geräten wie Computern, digitalen Audioplayern und digitalen Audio-Workstations gespeichert und bearbeitet werden können.

Bei digitalem Audio wird die Schallwelle des Audiosignals in regelmäßigen Abständen gesampelt (aufgenommen) und jedem Sample ein digitaler Wert zugeordnet. Dieser Vorgang wird als Analog-Digital-Wandlung (ADC) bezeichnet.

So werden Schallwellen von analog in digital umgewandelt
So werden Schallwellen von analog in digital umgewandelt

Die Qualität digitaler Audiosignale wird durch zwei Faktoren bestimmt: die Samplerate (wie viele Samples pro Sekunde aufgenommen werden) und die Bittiefe (wie viele Informationen in jedem Sample gespeichert werden).

Passend dazu: ADAT – Alles über die Schnittstelle in digitalen Audiogeräten

Was genau ist die Abtastrate?

Die digitale Abtastrate (Sample Rate) gibt an, wie oft pro Sekunde das analoge Signal aufgenommen wird, um ein digitales Signal zu erzeugen. Je höher die Abtastrate, desto „genauer“ (d. h. häufiger) wird das Signal aufgezeichnet. Allerdings wird auch mehr Speicherplatz benötigt, da mehr Informationen gespeichert werden.

Die Skizze zeigt deutlich den Unterschied einer höheren Samplerate
Die Skizze zeigt deutlich den Unterschied einer höheren Samplerate

Die Samplerate wird in kHz angegeben und kann in der DAW eingestellt werden. Wenn du mehrere Interfaces oder andere digitale Audiogeräte miteinander verbindest, musst du alle Geräte auf die gleiche Samplerate einstellen – die meisten USB- und Thunderbolt-Audio-Interfaces passen ihre Samplerate jedoch automatisch an die der DAW an.

In der Regel sind folgende Sampleraten verfügbar: 44,1 kHz, 48 kHz, 96 kHz, 192 kHz. Diese Zahlen sind nicht zufällig gewählt, sondern haben einen Grund.

44,1 kHz

Diese Samplerate wurde Ende der 1970er Jahre für das Format der Compact Disc (CD) gewählt. Der Grund für diese Wahl ist etwas kompliziert. Sie hängt mit der höchsten Frequenz zusammen, die genau wiedergegeben werden kann (die Nyquist-Frequenz, die der Hälfte der Samplerate entspricht).

Die höchste Frequenz, die die meisten Menschen hören können, liegt bei etwa 20 kHz, so dass eine Samplerate von 40 kHz theoretisch ausreichend wäre. Allerdings wird ein Filter verwendet, um Aliasing zu vermeiden, und dieser Filter ist nicht perfekt – er benötigt eine Übergangsbandbreite. Daher wird 44,1 kHz statt 40 kHz gewählt, um etwas Spielraum für den Filter zu haben.

Die damalige Videotechnologie (die im Mastering-Prozess für CDs verwendet wurde) hatte einen Standard von 13,5 MHz, und 44,1 kHz ist 1/294 dieser Frequenz, was es zu einer praktischen Wahl machte, die den technischen Anforderungen entsprach.

48 kHz

Diese Samplerate wurde zum Standard für Audio in professionellen Videoproduktionen, einschließlich digitalem Fernsehen, digitalem Video, DVDs und digitalem Filmton. Der genaue Grund für die Wahl von 48 kHz ist nicht ganz klar, aber es ist wahrscheinlich, dass es eine höhere Frequenz ist, die noch eine angemessene Menge an Datenspeicherung und Rechenleistung ermöglicht und etwas mehr Raum für Anti-Aliasing-Filter bietet als 44,1 kHz.

96 kHz und 192 kHz

Diese sind einfach Vielfache von 48 kHz und werden in hochauflösenden Audioformaten verwendet. Die Idee dahinter ist, dass höhere Abtastraten höhere Frequenzen reproduzieren können und eine genauere Darstellung des ursprünglichen analogen Signals liefern. Es ist jedoch umstritten, ob diese höheren Frequenzen tatsächlich für den Menschen hörbar sind.

Auch interessant: Die 8 besten Mikrofone für Rapper und Sänger in 2023

Welcher Sample Rate ist der richtige für mich?

Die Wahl der richtigen Abtastrate hängt von verschiedenen Faktoren ab:

  1. 44,1 kHz: Wenn du Musik für CDs produzierst oder deine Aufnahmen hauptsächlich für das Streaming im Internet bestimmt sind, ist 44,1 kHz eine gute Wahl. Dies ist die Standard-Abtastrate für CDs und die meisten Online-Musikvertriebsplattformen.
  2. 48 kHz: Wenn du Audio für Video produzierst, ist 48 kHz die Standard-Abtastrate. Dies ist auch eine gängige Abtastrate für Podcasts und Hörbücher.
  3. 96 kHz oder 192 kHz: Wenn du hochauflösendes Audio produzierst, zum Beispiel für Blu-ray oder spezielle High-End-Audioveröffentlichungen, könntest du eine dieser höheren Abtastraten in Betracht ziehen. Allerdings benötigen Aufnahmen in solchen Formaten so viel Speicher und Rechenleistung, dass es sich für die meisten Anwendungen gar nicht lohnt.
44,1 kHz48 kHz96 kHz192 kHz
100 MB109 MB218 MB436 MB
500 MB545 MB1,09 GB2,18 GB
1 GB1,09 GB2,18GB4,36GB
So groß ist die gleiche Audiodatei in den verschiedenen Sample Rates

Ich empfehle allen Musikproduzenten und Tontechnikern immer in 48kHz zu arbeiten, weil das ein guter Kompromiss zwischen Qualität und Rechenleistung ist. Theoretisch reichen 44,1kHz völlig aus, weil die CD und Spotify & Co. sowieso in 44,1kHz laufen, aber man ist einfach flexibler, weil man später immer noch von 48kHz auf 44,1kHz downsamplen kann – umgekehrt geht das nicht.

Kann man den Unterschied bei höheren Abtastraten hören?

Dies ist in der Audiowelt ein sehr umstrittenes Thema – Tatsache ist, dass unser menschliches Gehör ohnehin nur bis 20 kHz hört und 44,1 kHz dafür völlig ausreichend sind. Höhere Sampleraten können in manchen Fällen bei der Audiobearbeitung von Vorteil sein, aber im fertigen Mix gibt es keinen hörbaren Unterschied zu 44,1 kHz.

Lohnt es sich, höhere Sample Rates zu verwenden?

In bestimmten Fällen kann es sich lohnen, aber ich würde niemandem empfehlen, ein komplettes, großes Projekt in 192 kHz aufzunehmen, da der Speicherplatzbedarf enorm wäre. Aber es gibt bestimmte Fälle, wo dies tatsächlich vom Vorteil sein kann.

Normalerweise geht beim Herunterpitchen eines 44,1 kHz-Samples der größte Teil der hohen Frequenzen des Samples verloren, da oberhalb von 22,1 kHz ohnehin keine Informationen mehr vorhanden sind, die heruntergepitcht werden könnten, um die neue Lücke in den Höhen zu füllen.

Hat das Sample jedoch eine Samplingrate von 96kHz, so enthält es Informationen von bis zu 48kHz – und es bleiben wesentlich mehr hohe Frequenzen erhalten, wenn das Sample heruntergepitcht wird, da diese „ultrahohen“ Frequenzen dann den Bereich von 15-20kHz ausfüllen.

Was ist die Bittiefe (Bit Depth)?

Die Bittiefe gibt an, wie viele mögliche Dynamikwerte jeder der Samples aufnehmen kann. Je höher die Bitrate, desto genauer wird die Dynamik des Songs aufgezeichnet. Sie ist ein Maß für die Auflösung oder Genauigkeit, mit der das ursprüngliche analoge Audiosignal digitalisiert wird.

Der Unterschied zwischen 8 Bit und 16 Bit - eine viel höhere Auflösung
Der Unterschied zwischen 8 Bit und 16 Bit – eine viel höhere Auflösung

In der Praxis sind die gebräuchlichsten Bittiefen in der digitalen Audioaufnahme 16 Bit und 24 Bit.

  • 16 Bit (65.536 Werte): Dies ist die Standard-Bittiefe für CDs und viele digitale Audioformate. Eine Bittiefe von 16 Bit ermöglicht einen theoretischen Dynamikbereich von etwa 96 Dezibel (dB). Das bedeutet, dass das lauteste Signal, das aufgezeichnet werden kann, etwa 96 dB lauter ist als das leiseste hörbare Signal.
  • 24 Bit (16.777.216 Werte): Dies ist die Standard-Bittiefe für professionelle Audioaufnahmen und einige hochauflösende Audioformate. Eine Bittiefe von 24 Bit ermöglicht einen theoretischen Dynamikumfang von etwa 144 dB, was weit über dem Dynamikumfang liegt, den das menschliche Ohr in der Praxis wahrnehmen kann. Das bedeutet, dass mehr Details in den leisen Teilen der Aufnahme erhalten bleiben können, die man vielleicht nicht direkt hört, sondern erst, wenn man die Lautstärke erhöht. Dadurch hat man beim Bearbeiten und Mischen der Aufnahme mehr Spielraum – man muss nicht mehr wie früher „laut“ aufnehmen, weil das Rauschen so gering ist.

Das Problem ist jedoch, dass die digitale Welle nie zu 100 % die Form der analogen Welle haben kann, unabhängig von der Bittiefe. Wenn wir reale Klänge in ein digitales Format umwandeln, versuchen wir, eine gleichmäßige, fließende Schallwelle mit einer Reihe einzelner Werte einzufangen. Aber manchmal ist der genaue Wert, den wir brauchen, nicht verfügbar, also müssen wir auf den nächsten Wert abrunden. Diesen Vorgang nennt man Quantisierung.

So sieht die Quantisierung bei der Umwandlung eines analogen Audiosignals in ein digitales aus
So sieht die Quantisierung bei der Umwandlung eines analogen Audiosignals in ein digitales aus

Durch diese Abrundung wird ein kleines bisschen Zufall in den digitalen Klang eingebracht. Wir hören diese Zufälligkeit als sehr leises Hintergrundgeräusch, ähnlich wie das leise Rauschen, das du in einem ruhigen Raum hören kannst. Dies wird als Grundrauschen bezeichnet.

Manchmal kann die Art und Weise, wie wir den Ton abtasten, sich wiederholende Muster in diesem Rauschen erzeugen, die es bei bestimmten Frequenzen stärker wahrnehmbar machen. Dies wird als korreliertes Rauschen bezeichnet.

Um diese Muster zu vermeiden, können wir bei der Abrundung der Werte eine zusätzliche Zufallsgröße hinzufügen. Dieser Prozess wird Dithering genannt und hilft dabei, das Rauschen gleichmäßiger zu verteilen und weniger auffällig zu machen.

Der Pegel dieses Hintergrundgeräuschs legt den leisesten Ton fest, den wir aufnehmen können – denn unser Signal muss immer lauter als dieser Hintergrundgeräusch sein, damit es sauber bleibt.

Auf der anderen Seite gibt es eine Grenze für den lautesten Ton, den wir aufnehmen können, bevor er zu verzerren beginnt. Dieser Bereich zwischen dem leisesten und dem lautesten Ton ist der zuvor erwähnte Dynamikbereich.

Wann braucht man welche Bittiefe?

24 Bit ist für Aufnahmen sehr praktisch, weil man sich keine Gedanken über Pegel machen muss. Der Dynamikumfang ist so groß und der Noise Floor so niedrig, dass man problemlos mit -15dB aufnehmen kann, weil man später einfach viel Lautstärke hinzufügen kann. Und man stellt sicher, dass das Signal nicht verzerrt wird.

Früher musste man bei 16-Bit-Aufnahmegeräten immer darauf achten, so laut wie möglich aufzunehmen, damit das Grundrauschen nicht hörbar wurde – und dann bestand immer die Gefahr des Übersteuerns. Bei 24 Bit gibt es dieses Problem nicht mehr.

Du solltest also immer in 24 Bit aufnehmen und arbeiten, aber wenn der Song fertig gemastert ist, solltest du den finalen Master in 16 Bit exportieren, da dies der Standard für CDs und Streaming-Dienste ist.

Kann man den Unterschied zwischen 16 Bit und 24 Bit hören?

Nein, man hört den Unterschied nicht, wenn man ein fertig gemastertes Stück hört. Es gibt kaum Musikstücke, die einen größeren Dynamikumfang als 96dB haben (vielleicht Klassik), also macht es sowieso keinen Sinn, einen größeren Dynamikumfang anzubieten.

Fertig produzierte Pop-, Rock-, R&B-, Hip-Hop- und Country-Musik hat in der Regel einen relativ bescheidenen Dynamikumfang – typischerweise um die 10 dB – sodass theoretisch auch 8 Bit ausreichen würden. Dies liegt unter anderem daran, dass die Musik während der Produktion stark komprimiert wird (mit Kompressoren oder Limitern), wodurch der Dynamikumfang des Liedes reduziert wird.

Deshalb arbeiten alle Streaming-Dienste noch mit 16 Bit – und natürlich aus Platzgründen. Der einzige Vorteil von 24 Bit gegenüber 16 Bit ist der größere Dynamikumfang und damit ein geringerer Noise Floor bei der Aufnahme.

Welche Kombination von Samplerate und Bittiefe ist also die beste?

Für Musikproduktionen empfiehlt sich eine Abtastrate von 48 kHz bei einer Bittiefe von 24 Bit, da dies einen guten Kompromiss zwischen Qualität und Dateigröße darstellt. Damit hat man einen sehr großen Dynamikbereich zum Arbeiten und einen nach oben praktisch unbegrenzten Frequenzbereich bis 24 kHz – viel mehr, als wir überhaupt hören können.

Und damit haben wir alle Möglichkeiten, später für alle Medien zu exportieren – und unsere finale Audiodatei, die wir dann auf die Streaming-Plattformen bringen, sollte 44,1 kHz bei 16 Bit haben. Das ist das Format, das Streaming-Dienste und CDs erwarten.

Teile diesen Artikel

Wir recherchieren, testen, prüfen und empfehlen unabhängig die besten Produkte. Wenn du etwas über unsere Links kaufst, erhalten wir ggf. eine Provision.

Weitere Beiträge
Die besten Reverb-Pedale
Gear
Die besten Reverb-Pedale für Gitarristen und Produzenten
Ein Reverb-Pedal kann der Gitarre eine unglaubliche Tiefe verleihen und den Klang enorm bereichern. Egal, ob dein Verstärker bereits einen eingebauten Hall hat oder nicht ...
Read More →
Die besten Chorus-Pedale
Gear
Die 8 besten Chorus-Pedale für Gitarristen und Produzenten
Chorus-Pedale waren in den 80er Jahren besonders beliebt und Legenden wie Kurt Kobain oder John Frusciante machten sie in den 90er Jahren noch populärer. Heute ...
Read More →
Die besten Distortion-Pedale
Gear
Die besten Distortion/Verzerrer Pedale für E-Gitarre
Heute sind Distortion-Pedale beliebter denn je - im digitalen Zeitalter, in dem viele Gitarristen ohne Verstärker oder mit Transistorverstärkern spielen, werden Distortion-Pedale sehr häufig eingesetzt, ...
Read More →
Die besten Laptops für Musikproduktion
Gear
Die 12 besten Laptops für Musikproduktion
Lange Zeit glaubte man, man müsse unbedingt ein Apple-Laptop haben, um unterwegs Musik zu produzieren - das ist längst nicht mehr der Fall. Auch wenn ...
Read More →
Die besten Delay-Pedale
Gear
Die besten Delay-Pedale in 2024
Delay-Pedale gehören zu den beliebtesten Pedalen von Gitarristen - ein Delay-Effekt erzeugt Tiefe und einen atmosphärischen Sound, der mit anderen Mitteln nicht zu erreichen ist. ...
Read More →
Schlagzeug Noten lesen lernen
Uncategorized
Schlagzeug Noten lesen: So geht’s
Schlagzeuger haben ihre eigenen Noten - sie sind besonders wichtig, wenn man Schlagzeug in einer Musikschule lernt. Aber auch für Schlagzeuger, die in vielen verschiedenen ...
Read More →