All about stems in music production

You've probably heard the term stems in the context of music production - most likely in the field of mastering. In this post, you'll learn all about stems and how they can help you make your music productions workflow more efficient.
Audio stems
Table of contents

What are Stems?

In the world of music production, stems are groups of tracks in a song that form a unit. This means that if I have a kick drum, a hi-hat and a snare drum in my song, together they form the stem of the drum kit.

Or the track's piano and guitars form the rhythm stem. There are no rules for forming stems, but it must make sense in the context of the song.

There are basically the following stems:

  • Lead Vocals
  • Background vocals
  • Drums
  • Bass
  • Rhythm instruments
  • Lead instruments

Of course, you can subdivide these stems even further, e.g. into piano and organ instead of rhythm, or the drums into drums and percussion - the more specific you get, the more groups you end up with.

What do we need Stems for?

So audio stems are parts of a larger musical whole. They help us divide and organize our mixing process - if I mix the individual tracks into groups first, I only end up working with 5-7 groups instead of 30 individual tracks.

The use of stems in music production has several advantages:

Mastering flexibility

Stems allow more flexibility in the mastering phase because the individual groups are available. So if the bass is too weak, I can just add the stems from the bass and make it louder instead of having to work with a multiband compressor.

You can even turn down an instrument in your final mix by reversing the phase of that group and mixing the track together with the master track. It would be better not to have to go that far by making a reasonable mix, but it's a good emergency solution for mastering.

You can also use stems to apply different effects to different elements of the music. For example, you can add reverb to the vocal stem to make it sound more spacious, while keeping the drums dry.

Or apply compression to the drum stem to give it more punch while leaving the bass stem uncompressed.

Stem Mastering in Ableton Live
Stem Mastering in Ableton Live

Enormous time saving during mixing

Mixing with stems allows for more efficient adjustment of multiple tracks simultaneously. Instead of adjusting levels, panning or effects for each track individually, a group can be used to control multiple tracks simultaneously.

Grouping tracks in Ableton Live
Grouping tracks in Ableton Live

This saves time, as fewer adjustments have to be made in the final mixing phase, and enables an efficient way of working. Especially in this phase, you tend to go around in circles if you don't use groups, because you have to remix everything when changing a single track.

Remix

With Stems, new remixes of a song can be created because the remixer can choose which elements of the original mix to use and how to edit them. For example, I can keep the vocals from the original and still produce a new bass line and new drums for my remix.

Some remixes differ only minimally from the original version, which means that many stems of the original were used. If the remix is very different from the original version, it means that only a few groups of the original were used and a lot was produced by the artist.

Stems are often found online, especially in the context of competitions organised by producers to give everyone the opportunity to remix the song and choose the best one at the end.

Archiving/Export

Stems are especially important when mixing analogue and there is no console with a "total recall" function available, as in this case there is no way to save a project to recall it later.

Analogue consoles without total recall can't save projects, so I make stems to recall my mix later
Analogue consoles without total recall cannot save projects, so I create stems to recall my mix later. (Console in the photo: My Soundcraft Ghost 32)

But there is also a roundabout: When my mix is ready, I create stems (groups of tracks). But I leave the fader (or VCA) of each group at 0 and then export only the individual groups.

If I then want to open my project again to change a small thing, I simply import the stems and leave them all at 0 again - then I have exactly the same mix as the first time, but can, for example, make the vocals a little quieter or louder.

Collaboration

Stems can facilitate collaboration between different music producers or sound engineers by allowing them to work independently on different parts of a song.

A practical example: In today's world of hip-hop and trap producers, it's common to have one producer for the drums + 808 and another for the melody/harmony. This kind of collaboration is only possible through stems - unless both producers work with the same DAW.

It is also much more practical to send someone a project with 6 stems than a project with 60 tracks - everything is much clearer and you save a lot of frustration on both sides.

How do I create stems?

Exporting stems from your DAW is not complicated. Depending on which DAW you use, the process is slightly different.

If you have created groups and the DAW allows you to export the groups directly (Ableton Live allows this), you can easily export the individual groups.

In Ableton Live, first select the tracks of the group, then click on "Export audio" and select the option "Selected tracks only".

Exporting Stems in Ableton Live
Exporting Stems in Ableton Live

Otherwise, you have to do it through routing, either to a bus or you create stereo tracks where the channels are routed to. I prefer the latter option, as it allows me to apply VST plugins to my groups.

In Pro Tools, you would have to create stereo aux inputs for each stem where all the channels in the group are routed, and then export those individual stereo channels.

Where do you find stems for remixes?

As already mentioned, audio stems are the basis for remixing songs. Without them, no one can remix my song unless they use the same DAW as me. However, it is not common to remix whole DAW projects - the convention is to use stems.

There are different methods to get stems:

Search online

You can find many stems easily via Google by searching for something like "stems for remix". There are many websites of labels and artists that offer them for download, many even for free.

I've put together a small list of free stems of songs available online that you can instantly download to make your own remixes.

There are always remix contests on metapop.com where stems of songs are made available for everyone - keep an eye on it to stay up to date.

Contact artists directly

Nowadays, it is also very common for artists to network with each other and exchange stems in order to collaborate. In general, you should look for artists who have a similar reach and fan base as you do - because it's unlikely that someone like David Guetta would collaborate with a completely unknown artist.

You can easily search for and contact artists via Instagram - this method is usually very effective if you have a well-maintained artist profile yourself (so you need to appear serious).

Remixes always benefit both artists, as they both reach new potential fans. Best of all, thanks to stems, you can collaborate with musicians from all over the world, whether it's Japan, Germany, the US or Brazil!

sample libraries

There are many sample libraries with countless stems - the best known of all is Splice. There you will find drum loops, bass loops, guitar loops etc. However, these are rather intended for complete productions, as all samples are 100% royalty-free.

There are no stems from well-known songs, but there are some loops that were used by very well-known artists for their hits. You can use them all immediately in your productions or remixes without copyright concerns.

Keep reading: What are LUFS and why are they important?

Ad

Wood and Fire on Social Media

We independently research, test, review and recommend the best products. If you buy something through our links, we may receive a commission.

SUBSONIC 808

This sample pack contains 62 of the best 808 basses in the industry! Subscribe to our newsletter and receive the samples immediately in your inbox.

Subsonic 808 sample pack

Free 808 Samples!

This sample pack contains 62 of the best 808 basses in the industry! Subscribe to our newsletter and receive the samples immediately in your inbox.

Alles über die Stems in der Musikproduktion

Du hast den Begriff Stems sicher schon einmal im Zusammenhang mit Musikproduktion gehört - wahrscheinlich im Kontext von Mastering. In diesen Beitrag erfährst du alles über Stems und wie sie dir helfen können, deine Musikproduktionen effizienter zu gestalten.
Audio-Stems
Inhaltsverzeichnis

Was sind Stems?

In der Welt der Musikproduktion sind Stems Gruppen von Spuren eines Liedes, die zusammen eine Einheit bilden. Das heißt, wenn ich in meinem Song eine Kick-Drum, eine Hi-Hat und eine Snare-Drum habe, bilden sie zusammen die Stem des Schlagzeuges.

Oder das Klavier und die Gitarren des Tracks bilden zusammen den Rhytmus-Stem. Es gibt keine Regeln für die Bildung von Stems, aber es muss im Kontext des Songs Sinn ergeben.

Es gibt grundsätzlich folgende Stems:

  • Lead Vocals
  • Background-Vocals
  • Drums
  • Bass
  • Rhytmus-Instrumente
  • Lead-Instrumente

Natürlich kann man diese Stems noch weiter unterteilen, z.B. in Klavier und Orgel statt Rhythmus, oder die Drums in Schlagzeug und Percussion – je spezifischer man wird, desto mehr Gruppen erhält man am Ende.

Wofür brauchen wir Stems?

Audio-Stems sind also Teile eines größeren musikalischen Ganzen. Sie helfen uns, unseren Mixing-Prozess zu unterteilen und zu organisieren – wenn ich die einzelnen Tracks zuerst in Gruppen mische, muss ich am Ende nur mit 5-7 Gruppen statt mit 30 einzelnen Tracks arbeiten.

Die Verwendung von Stems in der Musikproduktion hat mehrere Vorteile:

Flexibilität beim Mastering

Stems ermöglichen mehr Flexibilität in der Mastering-Phase, da die einzelnen Gruppen zur Verfügung stehen. Wenn also der Bass zu schwach ist, kann ich einfach die Stems vom Bass hinzufügen und lauter machen, statt mit einem Multiband-Kompressor arbeiten zu müssen.

Du kannst sogar ein Instrument in deinem fertigen Mix leiser machen, indem du die Phase dieser Gruppe umkehrst und die Spur mit der Masterspur zusammenmischst. Es wäre besser, nicht so weit gehen zu müssen, indem man einen vernünftigen Mix macht, aber es ist eine gute Notlösung für das Mastering.

Außerdem kannst du mit Stems verschiedene Effekte auf unterschiedliche Elemente der Musik anwenden. Zum Beispiel kannst du dem Stem des Gesangs einen Hall geben, damit er räumlicher klingt, während das Schlagzeug trocken bleibt.

Oder du wendest Kompression auf den Schlagzeug-Stem an, um ihm mehr Druck zu verleihen, während du den Bass-Stem unkomprimiert lässt.

Stem-Mastering in Ableton Live
Stem-Mastering in Ableton Live

Enorme Zeitersparnis beim Mixing

Das Mixing mit Gruppen ermöglicht eine effizientere Anpassung mehrerer Spuren gleichzeitig. Anstatt Pegel, Panning oder Effekte für jede Spur einzeln einzustellen, kann eine Gruppe verwendet werden, um mehrere Spuren gleichzeitig zu steuern.

Gruppierung von Spuren in Ableton Live
Gruppierung von Spuren in Ableton Live

Dies spart Zeit, da in der finalen Phase des Mixings weniger Anpassungen vorgenommen werden müssen, und ermöglicht eine effiziente Arbeitsweise. Gerade in dieser Phase neigt man sonst dazu, sich „im Kreise zu drehen“, weil man durch die Änderung einer Spur immer wieder alles neu mischen muss.

Remix

Mit Stems können neue Remixe eines Songs erstellt werden, da der Remixer auswählen kann, welche Elemente des Original-Mix er verwendet und wie er sie bearbeiten möchte. So kann ich zum Beispiel die Vocals des Originals beibehalten und trotzdem eine neue Basslinie und neue Drums für meinen Remix produzieren.

Manche Remixe unterscheiden sich nur minimal von der Originalversion, das heißt, es wurden viele Stems des Originals verwendet. Wenn sich der Remix stark von der Originalversion unterscheidet, bedeutet dies, dass nur wenige Gruppen des Originals verwendet und viel selbst produziert wurde.

Stems sind häufig online zu finden, insbesondere im Rahmen von Wettbewerben, die von Produzenten organisiert werden, um jedermann die Möglichkeit zu geben, einen Remix des Liedes zu erstellen und am Ende den besten auszuwählen.

Archivierung/Export

Stems sind besonders wichtig, wenn analog gemischt wird und keine Konsole mit „Total Recall“-Funktion zur Verfügung steht, da es in diesem Fall keine Möglichkeit gibt, ein Projekt zu speichern, um es später wieder aufzurufen.

Analoge Konsolen ohne Total-Recall können keine Projekte speichern, deswegen mache ich Stems, um mein Mix später aufrufen zu können
Analoge Konsolen ohne Total-Recall können keine Projekte speichern, deswegen erstelle ich Stems, um mein Mix später aufrufen zu können (Konsole im Foto: Meine Soundcraft Ghost 32)

Es gibt aber auch einen Umweg: Wenn mein Mix fertig ist, erstelle ich Stems (also Gruppen von Spuren). Ich lasse aber den Fader (oder VCA) jeder Gruppe auf 0 und exportiere dann nur die einzelnen Gruppen.

Wenn ich dann mein Projekt wieder öffnen will, um eine Kleinigkeit zu ändern, importiere ich einfach die Stems und lasse sie alle wieder auf 0 – dann habe ich genau den gleichen Mix wie beim ersten Mal, kann aber z.B. die Vocals etwas leiser oder lauter machen.

Kollaboration

Stems können die Zusammenarbeit zwischen verschiedenen Musikproduzenten oder Toningenieuren erleichtern, indem sie es ihnen ermöglichen, unabhängig voneinander an verschiedenen Teilen eines Songs zu arbeiten.

Ein praktisches Beispiel: In der heutigen Welt der Hip-Hop- und Trap-Produzenten ist es üblich, einen Produzenten für die Drums + 808 und einen anderen für die Melodie/Harmonie zu haben. So eine Art der Zusammenarbeit ist nur durch Stems möglich – es sei denn, beide Produzenten arbeiten mit der gleichen DAW.

Es ist auch viel praktischer, jemandem ein Projekt mit 6 Stems zu schicken, als ein Projekt mit 60 Spuren – alles ist viel übersichtlicher und man erspart sich viel Frust auf beiden Seiten.

Wie erstelle ich Stems?

Das Exportieren von Stems aus deiner DAW ist nicht kompliziert. Je nachdem, welche DAW du benutzt, ist der Prozess etwas unterschiedlich.

Wenn du Gruppen erstellt hast, und die DAW es erlaubt, die Gruppen direkt zu exportieren (Ableton Live erlaubt das), kannst du ganz einfach die einzelnen Gruppen exportieren.

In Ableton Live wählst du zuerst die Spuren der Gruppe aus, klickst dann auf „Audio exportieren“ und wählst die Option „Nur ausgewählte Spuren“.

Exportieren von Stems in Ableton Live
Exportieren von Stems in Ableton Live

Ansonsten muss man mit Routing arbeiten, entweder auf einem Bus oder man erstellt Stereospuren, wo die Kanäle geroutet werden. Ich bevorzuge die letztere Option, da sie es mir ermöglicht, VST-Plugins auf meine Gruppen anzuwenden.

In Pro Tools müsste man Stereo-Aux-Inputs für jeden Stem erstellen, wo alle Kanäle der Gruppe geroutet werden, und dann diese einzelnen Stereo-Kanäle exportieren.

Wo findet man Stems für Remixe?

Wie bereits erwähnt, bilden Audio-Stems die Grundlage für das Remixen von Songs. Ohne sie kann niemand meinen Song remixen, es sei denn, er benutzt die gleiche DAW wie ich. Es ist jedoch nicht üblich, ganze DAW-Projekte zu remixen – die Konvention ist die Verwendung von Stems.

Es gibt verschiedene Methoden, um Stems zu bekommen:

Suche im Netz

Du kannst viele Stems einfach über Google finden, indem du nach etwas wie „stems for remix“ suchst. Es gibt viele Websites von Labels und Künstlern, die sie zum Download anbieten, viele sogar kostenlos.

Ich habe hier eine kleine Liste mit kostenlosen Stems von Songs zusammengestellt, die online verfügbar sind und die du sofort herunterladen kannst, um deine eigenen Remixe zu machen.

Auf metapop.com gibt es immer wieder Remix-Wettbewerbe, wo die Stems von Songs zur Verfügung gestellt werden – halte ein Auge darauf, um auf dem neusten Stand zu bleiben.

Künstler direkt kontaktieren

Heutzutage ist es auch sehr üblich, dass sich Künstler untereinander vernetzen und Stems austauschen, um zusammenzuarbeiten. Generell sollte man nach Künstlern suchen, die eine ähnliche Reichweite und Fangemeinde haben wie man selbst – denn es ist unwahrscheinlich, dass ein Künstler wie David Guetta mit einem völlig unbekanntem Artist zusammenarbeitet.

Du kannst Künstler ganz einfach über Instagram suchen und anschreiben – diese Methode ist in der Regel sehr effektiv, wenn du selbst über ein gut gepflegtes Künstlerprofil verfügst (du musst also seriös auftreten).

Von Remixes profitieren immer beide Künstler, da beide neue potenzielle Fans erreichen. Und das Beste: Dank Stems kannst du mit Musikern aus der ganzen Welt zusammenarbeiten, egal ob aus Japan, Deutschland, den USA oder Brasilien!

Sample-Libraries

Es gibt viele Sample-Libraries mit unzähligen Stems – die bekannteste von allen ist Splice. Dort findest du Drum-Loops, Bass-Loops, Gitarren-Loops usw. Allerdings sind diese eher für komplette Produktionen gedacht, da alle Samples 100% Royalty-Free sind.

Es gibt keine Stems von bekannten Songs, aber einige Loops, die von sehr bekannten Künstlern für ihre Hits verwendet wurden. Du kannst sie alle sofort und ohne Copyright-Bedenken in deinen Produktionen oder Remixe einsetzen.

Weiterlesen: Was sind LUFS und warum sind sie wichtig?

Anzeige

Wood and Fire on Social media

Wir recherchieren, testen, prüfen und empfehlen unabhängig die besten Produkte. Wenn du etwas über unsere Links kaufst, erhalten wir ggf. eine Provision.

SUBSONIC 808

Dieses Sample Pack beinhaltet 62 der besten 808-Bässe der Industrie! Abonniere unseren Newsletter und erhalte die Samples sofort in deinem Postfach.

Subsonic 808 sample pack

Kostenlose 808 Samples!

Dieses Sample Pack beinhaltet 62 der besten 808-Bässe der Industrie! Abonniere unseren Newsletter und erhalte die Samples sofort in deinem Postfach.