Vocoders: Functionality, history and best models

They sound like music from a futuristic world, transforming human voices into mechanical sounds and creating the unmistakable effect of a "talking synthesizer". Originally intended as a military tool, vocoders have conquered the music industry and are now an essential element of electronic music.
Table of contents

What is a vocoder?

A vocoder (short for "voice encoder") is a device or software algorithm capable of analyzing and synthesizing the characteristic properties of a human voice (or other audio signal).

The result is a robotic, unnatural voice that can be appropriate for certain musical situations and genres. The sound of a vocoder is often referred to as a "talking synthesizer". This effect can be heard very well in the following video:

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Live performance of 10 well-known vocoder songs on the Behringer VC340.

The vocoder was originally developed for military purposes in the 1930s to reduce the bandwidth of telephone transmissions. During World War II, it was used for encrypted voice communication - but the device became definitely more popular among musicians.

How does a vocoder work?

A vocoder manipulates the sound of a voice by breaking it down into its individual frequency bands and then using those bands to modulate another audio signal called the "carrier". This means that it takes the rhythmic and melodic characteristics of the original voice and transfers them to the carrier, resulting in a completely new sound.

How a vocoder works
How a vocoder works

There are essentially 3 main steps in the work of a vocoder:

  1. Analysis: The vocoder analyzes the "modulator" signal, usually a human voice, and splits it into different frequency bands. This decomposition is done to isolate the different characteristic frequencies of the voice (such as the formants characteristic of certain vowels).
  2. Modulation: The amplitudes (or volumes) of these frequency bands are then used to modulate the "carrier" (synthesizer) signal. The carrier can be any type of audio signal, often a synthesizer or musical instrument. Each frequency band of the carrier signal is amplified or attenuated according to the amplitude of the corresponding frequency band in the modulator signal.
  3. Synthesis: Finally, the carrier signal is output after passing through the various filters and modulators. In this way, the modulator signal (voice) has been mapped or "copied" onto the carrier signal (synthesizer). The synthesizer can then reproduce the human voice.

The result of these processes is an audio signal that has the rhythmic and melodic characteristics of the original voice - you can still understand the words and phrases - but has the sonic character of the carrier signal (a synthesizer). It can be perceived as a "sung" or "spoken" version of the carrier signal, often with a mechanical or "robotic" sound.

The tones are usually controlled by a keyboard, but you can also use MIDI to write the melody beforehand, so all you have to do is speak.

History

The vocoder was first experimented with and patented in 1928 by engineer Homer Dudley. It was used in the SIGSALY system for encrypted communication during World War II. Since the 1970s, most non-musical vocoders have been implemented using the Yule-Walker equation, which uses the all-pole IIR filter to process the signal.

Schematic circuit of Dudley's Vocoder
Schematic circuit of Dudley's vocoder; source: Wikimedia Commons

In music, the vocoder first became popular in the 1970s. Wendy Carlos and Robert Moog developed one of the first musical vocoders in 1970. The carrier signal came from a Moog modular synthesizer, and the modulator came from a microphone. This vocoder was used in several recordings, including the soundtrack to Stanley Kubrick's film A Clockwork Orange. The first rock album to use a vocoder was Bruce Haack's The Electric Lucifer in 1970.

In the last decades, artists such as Daft Punk and Eiffel 65 have used the vocoder prominently in pop music. The vocoder sound has become a distinctive feature of the French electronic duo Daft Punk and the German band Kraftwerk.

A vocoder does not always need a human voice

The modulation signal doesn't always have to be a human voice - you can theoretically use any audio source. For example, you could use an electric guitar or a cello - but then the effect is not so blatant, because these audio sources are already more similar to the sound of a synthesizer. So the "transformation" is less noticeable.

Kraftwerk did not always use their own voice in the vocoder, but sometimes also the voice of a medical speech computer (which is actually meant for people who cannot speak). The result was a very robotic voice that sounded very futuristic.

Design of a vocoder

The classic vocoder looks like a synthesizer, which it is. The big difference is that the vocoder has a microphone, called a gooseneck microphone. This allows the musician to speak while playing the keyboard to control the pitch. In most cases, the keyboard is built into the device.

Modern vocoders are also available as DAW plugins. Then all you have to do is connect a microphone to the audio interface, select the appropriate input as the audio source, and you're ready to go.

The iZotope VocalSynth 2 or the Waves Morphoder are popular vocoder plugins that are definitely worth checking out.

There are two legendary vocoders that have been used extensively throughout music history and cost a fortune today: the Korg VC-10 (about $2000) and the Roland VP-33 (about $4000). Due to their fame and the fact that they are no longer in production, their prices have skyrocketed. Both have the characteristic design of a vocoder with keyboard, microphone and synthesizer parameters.

Vocoder vs Talkbox

Although vocoders and talkboxes are often used in the music industry to create similar effects, they work in very different ways.

Vocoder vs Talk Box
Vocoder vs Talk Box

A vocoder, as we have seen, combines or "encodes" two signals, usually a human voice (the modulator) and a musical instrument, often a synthesizer (the carrier). The device analyzes the spectral characteristics of the modulator and applies them to the carrier.

A talkbox works a little differently. It channels the sound of an instrument, usually a guitar or synthesizer, through a tube that the musician puts in his or her mouth. The musician's lips and mouth then shape the sound, while a microphone picks up the resulting sounds. The Talkbox uses the musician's mouth as a "formant filter" to change the sound of the instrument.

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

In the song "California Love" by 2Pac, a talk box is used in the hook.

So we can say that a vocoder transfers the sound spectrum of a voice to another signal, while a talkbox shapes the timbre of an instrument with the articulation of a singer. Therefore, a vocoder can usually play several notes or chords at the same time (polyphonic), while a talkbox can usually play only one sound signal (monophonic), because the human voice can only articulate one note at a time.

Best Vocoders in 2023

Arturia Microfreak

Arturia MicroFreak Vocoder
Arturia MicroFreak Vocoder

The Arturia Microfreak is not a pure vocoder, but a synthesizer with vocoder functions. You have to buy the matching microphone from Arturia, but it only costs 29€. The advantage is that you can apply all the effects of the synthesizer to your voice, giving you endless possibilities for sound shaping.

The LFO waveform can be changed from sawtooth to pulse to noise, and the vocoder LFO is just as modulable and filterable as the synthesizer LFOs. A special feature of this synthesizer is the PCB keyboard, which reacts not only to touch, but also to pressure. The amount of pressure can be mapped to different parameters, allowing for a lot of expression while playing.

Recommended for producers who want to create many other sounds besides the vocoder sound, this device knows no limits.

Link: Arturia MicroFreak (319 €)

Behringer Vocoder VC340

Behringer VC340
Behringer VC340

Behringer is now known for reproducing all the synthesizer classics - including the VC340. It is a clone of Roland's legendary VP-330, which is hard to find these days. It offers exceptional performance and sound quality at an amazingly affordable price, which is typical of Behringer's philosophy.

The vocoder function of the VC340 is undoubtedly the highlight of this unit. It is capable of producing the characteristic "talking synthesizer" sounds that made the original so famous. You can feed your own voice or any other audio signal into the vocoder via the included XLR microphone, and the result sounds incredibly good. The sound is identical to that of the Roland.

The built-in chorus, vibrato, and ensemble effects are great extras to make the voice sound even broader and more dynamic. It is even possible to create string sounds that are atypical for a vocoder and more reminiscent of a polyphonic synthesizer.

Link: Behringer Vocoder VC340 (515 €)

Novation MiniNova

Novation MiniNova
Novation MiniNova

The Novation MiniNova is more than just a vocoder - it is a complete digital synthesizer with an extra vocoder function. It has 12 bands and can create a wide range of "talking synthesizer" effects. A useful feature is the included gooseneck microphone that plugs directly into the front of the synthesizer for easy operation.

A great extra is the Vocal-Tune function, which can be used to correct the pitch of the voice (like the classic Auto-Tune). Auto-Tune differs from Vocoder in that only one signal (the voice) is used. So you hear only the pitched voice at the output and not the carrier signal as with a vocoder.

Link: Novation MiniNova (399 €)

Korg Micro Korg

Korg Microkorg
Korg Microkorg

The Micro Korg has been on the market since 2002 and has hardly changed since then - because there is nothing to improve.

It features a virtual analog synthesizer with 37 mini-keys and 128 pre-programmed sounds. Despite its compact size, the MicroKorg offers an amazing variety of sounds, ranging from classic analog sounds to modern, edgy digital sounds. The sounds can be easily adjusted using the five knobs on the top of the synthesizer, making sound manipulation intuitive and easy.

But what interests us most is the 8-band vocoder. With a detachable gooseneck microphone plugged into the synthesiser, classic vocoder sounds can be created. From robot voices to singing synthesizers, the MicroKorg Vocoder offers an enormous range of sound shaping possibilities and can even add effects to external audio sources.

What I find particularly helpful about this unit is that you can set all the parameters on your PC or Mac using the microKORG Sound Editor, which makes it much easier to use.

Link: Korg Micro Korg Analogue Modelling Synthesizer (399 €)

Boss VO-1

Boss VO-1 Vocoder
Boss VO-1 Vocoder

If you like pedals, the VO-1 is for you. This vocoder pedal takes a normal instrument signal (preferably an electric guitar) and modulates it with your voice. In addition to two vocoder sounds (Advanced for modern sounds, Vintage for the classic vocoder sound of the 70s and 80s), there is also a talkbox function that emulates the sound of talkboxes without the characteristic tube.

The fourth mode, Choir, automatically generates the voices without you having to speak into the microphone. All in all, a great tool for guitarists who value portability. And since this pedal is made by Boss, and Boss is a subsidiary of Roland, you can be sure that the sound quality is top notch.

Link: Boss VO-1 Vocoder (209 €)

Keep reading:

Share this article

We independently research, test, review and recommend the best products. If you buy something through our links, we may receive a commission.

More articles
News
Analysis: The most popular song lyrics worldwide
Which song lyrics are most frequently searched for worldwide? We investigated this question with intensive research and analysed which song lyrics are most frequently searched for on Google.
Read More →
News
Research: The world's most played songs and riffs
Which songs do musicians around the world want to play the most? We investigated this exciting question and researched which song chords and guitar riffs are most popular worldwide.
Read More →
The best German cities for musicians
For artists
Study: The best German cities for musicians
Which German city is the best place for musicians to live? We looked into this question and conducted a study of the 40 largest cities in Germany
Read More →
Gear
Ranked: Which electric guitars hold their value the best?
We have analysed the used prices of the 40 best-selling electric guitars and compared them with the new prices. We show which electric guitars sell for the most on the second-hand market and which ...
Read More →
For artists
The most popular synthesizer brands by country
We have analysed the Google search queries of the 6 most popular synthesizer brands in 118 countries and evaluated the results. The results are very interesting and show, above all, ...
Read More →
The best reverb pedals
Gear
The best reverb pedals for guitarists and producers
A reverb pedal can add incredible depth to the guitar and enrich the sound enormously. Regardless of whether your amplifier already has a built-in reverb or not ...
Read More →

Vocoder: Funktionsweise, Geschichte und beste Modelle

Sie klingen wie Musik aus einer futuristischen Welt, verwandeln menschliche Stimmen in mechanische Klänge und erzeugen den unverwechselbaren Effekt eines "sprechenden Synthesizers". Ursprünglich als militärisches Werkzeug gedacht, haben Vocoder die Musikindustrie erobert und sind heute ein wesentliches Element der elektronischen Musik.
Inhaltsverzeichnis

Was ist ein Vocoder?

Ein Vocoder (kurz für „Voice Encoder“) ist ein Gerät oder ein Software-Algorithmus, der in der Lage ist, die charakteristischen Eigenschaften einer menschlichen Stimme (oder eines anderen Audiosignals) zu analysieren und zu synthetisieren.

Das Ergebnis ist eine roboterhafte, unnatürliche Stimme, die für bestimmte musikalische Situationen und Genres geeignet sein kann. Der Klang eines Vocoders wird oft als „sprechender Synthesizer“ bezeichnet. Dieser Effekt ist im folgenden Video sehr gut zu hören:

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Live-Performance von 10 bekannten Vocoder-Songs auf dem Behringer VC340

Ursprünglich wurde der Vocoder in den 1930er Jahren für militärische Zwecke entwickelt, um die Bandbreite der Telefonübertragung zu reduzieren. Während des Zweiten Weltkrieges wurde er für die verschlüsselte Sprachkommunikation eingesetzt – allerdings fand das Gerät mehr Popularität unter Musikern.

Wie funktioniert ein Vocoder?

Ein Vocoder manipuliert den Klang einer Stimme, indem er sie in ihre einzelnen Frequenzbänder zerlegt und diese dann verwendet, um ein anderes Audio-Signal – den sogenannten „Träger“ – zu modulieren. Das bedeutet, dass er die rhythmischen und melodischen Eigenschaften der ursprünglichen Stimme nimmt und sie auf den Träger überträgt, was zu einem völlig neuen Klang führt.

Funktionsweise eines Vocoders
Funktionsweise eines Vocoders

Bei der Arbeit eines Vocoders gibt es grundsätzlich 3 wichtige Schritte:

  1. Analyse: Der Vocoder analysiert das „Modulator“-Signal, normalerweise eine menschliche Stimme, und teilt es in verschiedene Frequenzbänder auf. Diese Zerlegung wird durchgeführt, um die verschiedenen charakteristischen Frequenzen der Stimme zu isolieren (wie die Formanten, die für bestimmte Vokale charakteristisch sind).
  2. Modulation: Die Amplituden (oder Lautstärken) dieser Frequenzbänder werden dann verwendet, um das „Träger“-Signal (Synthesizer) zu modulieren. Der Träger kann jede Art von Audio-Signal sein, oft ein Synthesizer oder ein musikalisches Instrument. Jedes Frequenzband des Trägersignals wird entsprechend der Amplitude des entsprechenden Frequenzbands im Modulatorsignal verstärkt oder abgeschwächt.
  3. Synthese: Zuletzt wird das Trägersignal ausgegeben, nachdem es die verschiedenen Filter und Modulatoren durchlaufen hat. Auf diese Weise wurde das Modulatorsignal (Stimme) auf das Trägersignal (Synthesizer) abgebildet oder „kopiert“. Der Synthesizer kann dadurch die menschliche Stimme nachbilden.

Das Ergebnis dieser Prozesse ist ein Audiosignal, das die rhythmischen und melodischen Merkmale der Originalstimme aufweist – man kann die Wörter und Sätze noch verstehen -, aber den klanglichen Charakter des Trägersignals (eines Synthesizers) hat. Es kann als „gesungene“ oder „gesprochene“ Version des Trägersignals wahrgenommen werden, oft mit einem mechanischen oder „roboterhaften“ Klang.

Die Töne werden normalerweise über ein Keyboard gesteuert, aber man kann auch MIDI verwenden, um die Melodie vorher zu schreiben, sodass man nur noch sprechen muss.

Geschichte

Erstmals experimentiert wurde mit dem Vocoder 1928 durch den Ingenieur Homer Dudley, der es auch patentieren ließ. Es wurde im SIGSALY-System zur verschlüsselten Kommunikation während des Zweiten Weltkriegs eingesetzt. Seit den 1970er Jahren wurden die meisten nicht-musikalischen Vocoder mit der Yule-Walker-Gleichung implementiert, die den allpoligen IIR-Filter zum Verarbeiten des Signals verwendet.

Schematische Schaltung von Dudleys Vocoder
Schematische Schaltung von Dudleys Vocoder; Quelle: Wikimedia Commons

In der Musik wurde der Vocoder zunächst in den 1970er Jahren populär. Wendy Carlos und Robert Moog entwickelten 1970 einen der ersten musikalischen Vocoder. Das Trägersignal kam von einem modularen Synthesizer von Moog und der Modulator von einem Mikrofon. Dieser Vocoder wurde in mehreren Aufnahmen verwendet, darunter im Soundtrack zu Stanley Kubricks Film A Clockwork Orange. Das erste Rockalbum, das einen Vocoder enthielt, war Bruce Haacks The Electric Lucifer von 1970.

In jüngster Zeit haben Künstler wie Daft Punk und Eiffel 65 den Vocoder in der Popmusik prominent eingesetzt. Der Vocoder-Sound ist zu einem markanten Merkmal des französischen Elektronik-Duos Daft Punk geworden und der deutschen Band Kraftwerk.

Ein Vocoder benötigt nicht immer eine menschliche Stimme.

Das Modulationssignal muss nicht immer eine menschliche Stimme sein – man kann theoretisch jede Audioquelle verwenden. Man könnte z.B. auch eine E-Gitarre oder ein Cello nehmen – allerdings ist der Effekt dann nicht so krass, da diese Audioquellen von sich aus schon eher dem Klang eines Synthesizers ähneln. Die „Verwandlung“ ist also nicht so auffällig.

Kraftwerk benutzten nicht immer ihre eigene Stimme im Vocoder, sondern manchmal auch die eines medizinischen Sprachcomputers (der eigentlich für Menschen gedacht ist, die nicht sprechen können). Das Ergebnis war eine sehr roboterhafte Stimme, die sehr futuristisch klang.

Aufbau eines Vocoders

Der klassische Vocoder sieht aus wie ein Synthesizer – letztendlich ist er auch einer. Der große Unterschied besteht darin, dass der Vocoder ein Mikrofon hat, ein sogenanntes Schwanenhalsmikrofon. Damit kann der Musiker sprechen, während er auf der Tastatur spielt, um die Tonhöhe zu steuern. In den meisten Fällen ist die Tastatur mit in dem Gerät eingebaut.

Moderne Vocoder gibt es auch als Plugin für die DAW. Dann muss man nur noch ein Mikrofon an das Audio-Interface anschließen, den entsprechenden Eingang als Audioquelle wählen und schon kann es losgehen.

Der iZotope VocalSynth 2 oder der Waves Morphoder sind beliebte Vocoder-Plugins, die sich auf jeden Fall lohnen.

Es gibt zwei legendäre Vocoder, die in der Musikgeschichte häufig verwendet wurden und heute ein Vermögen kosten: der Korg VC-10 (ca. $2000) und der Roland VP-33 (ca. $4000). Aufgrund ihres Bekanntheitsgrades und der Tatsache, dass sie nicht mehr produziert werden, sind ihre Preise in die Höhe geschossen. Beide haben das charakteristische Design eines Vocoders mit Tastatur, Mikrofon und Synthesizer-Parametern.

Vocoder vs Talkbox

Obwohl Vocoder und Talkbox häufig in der Musikindustrie eingesetzt werden, um ähnliche Effekte zu erzeugen, funktionieren sie auf sehr unterschiedliche Weise.

Vocoder vs Talk Box
Vocoder vs Talk Box

Ein Vocoder kombiniert oder „kodiert“, wie wir gesehen haben, zwei Signale, normalerweise eine menschliche Stimme (der Modulator) und ein Musikinstrument, oft ein Synthesizer (der Träger). Das Gerät analysiert die spektralen Eigenschaften des Modulators und wendet sie auf den Träger an.

Eine Talkbox funktioniert etwas anders. Sie leitet den Ton eines Instruments, meist einer Gitarre oder eines Synthesizers, durch ein Rohr, das der Musiker in den Mund nimmt. Die Lippen und der Mund des Musikers formen dann den Klang, während ein Mikrofon die resultierenden Töne aufnimmt. Die Talkbox nutzt den Mund des Musikers als „Formantfilter“, um den Klang des Instruments zu verändern.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

In dem Song „California Love“ von 2Pac wird in der Hook eine Talk Box verwendet

Man kann also sagen, dass ein Vocoder das Klangspektrum einer Stimme auf ein anderes Signal überträgt, während eine Talkbox das Timbre eines Instruments mit der Artikulation eines Sängers formt. Daher kann ein Vocoder normalerweise mehrere Töne oder Akkorde gleichzeitig spielen (polyphon), während eine Talkbox normalerweise nur ein Tonsignal spielen kann (monophon), da die menschliche Stimme nur einen Ton gleichzeitig artikulieren kann.

Beste Vocoder in 2023

Arturia Microfreak

Arturia MicroFreak Vocoder
Arturia MicroFreak Vocoder

Der Arturia Microfreak ist kein reiner Vocoder, sondern eher ein Synthesizer, der Vocoder-Funktionen enthält. Dafür muss man allerdings das passende Mikrofon von Arturia kaufen, kostet aber nur 29€. Der Vorteil ist, dass man alle Effekte vom Synthesizer auch auf die Stimme anwenden kann – man hat also unendlich viele Klangverformungsmöglichkeiten.

Die LFO-Wellenform kann von Sägezahn über Puls bis hin zu Noise verändert werden, und der Vocoder-LFO ist genauso modulierbar und filterbar wie die Synthesizer-LFOs. Besonders hervorzuheben ist bei diesem Synthesizer die PCB-Tastatur, die nicht nur auf Berührung, sondern auch auf Druck reagiert. Der Druckgrad kann auf verschiedene Parameter gemappt werden und ermöglicht so eine Menge an Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten während des Spielens.

Empfehlenswert für Produzenten, die neben dem Vocodersound noch viele weitere Klänge erzeugen wollen – dieses Gerät kennt keine Grenzen.

Link: Arturia MicroFreak (319 €)

Behringer Vocoder VC340

Behringer VC340
Behringer VC340

Behringer ist mittlerweile dafür bekannt, alle Synthesizer-Klassiker nachzubauen – so auch den VC340. Er ist ein Klon des legendären VP-330 von Roland, der heutzutage nur noch schwer zu finden ist. Er bietet eine außergewöhnliche Performance und Klangqualität zu einem erstaunlich günstigen Preis, was typisch für die Philosophie von Behringer ist.

Die Vocoder-Funktion des VC340 ist zweifellos das Highlight dieses Geräts. Er ist in der Lage, die charakteristischen „sprechenden Synthesizer“-Sounds zu erzeugen, die das Original so berühmt gemacht haben. Man kann seine eigene Stimme oder jedes andere Audiosignal über das mitgelieferte XLR-Mikrofon in den Vocoder einspeisen, und das Ergebnis klingt unglaublich gut. Der Klang ist identisch zum Roland.

Die integrierten Chorus-, Vibrato- und Ensemble-Effekte sind tolle Extras, um den Klang der Stimme noch breiter und dynamischer zu gestalten. Es lassen sich sogar Streichersounds erzeugen, die für einen Vocoder untypisch sind und eher an einen polyphonen Synthesizer erinnern.

Link: Behringer Vocoder VC340 (515 €)

Novation MiniNova

Novation MiniNova
Novation MiniNova

Der Novation MiniNova ist mehr als nur ein Vocoder – er ist ein vollständiges digitales Synthesizer mit Extra-Vocoder-Funktion. Dieser verfügt über 12 Bänder und kann sehr viele „sprechenden Synthesizer“-Effekten erzeugen. Ein nützliches Feature ist das im Lieferumfang enthaltene Gooseneck-Mikrofon, das direkt an die Vorderseite des Synthesizers angeschlossen wird und eine einfache Bedienung ermöglicht.

Ein tolles Extra ist die Vocal-Tune-Funktion, mit der die Stimmlage korrigiert werden kann (wie beim klassischen Auto-Tune). Auto-Tune unterscheidet sich vom Vocoder dadurch, dass nur ein Signal (die Stimme) verwendet wird. Man hört also am Ausgang nur die gepitchte Stimme und nicht das Trägersignal wie beim Vocoder.

Link: Novation MiniNova (399 €)

Korg Micro Korg

Korg Microkorg
Korg Microkorg

Der Micro Korg ist seit 2002 auf dem Markt und hat sich seitdem kaum verändert – weil es nichts zu verbessern gibt.

Er verfügt über einen virtuell-analogen Synthesizer mit 37 Minitasten und 128 vorprogrammierten Sounds. Trotz seiner kompakten Größe bietet der MicroKorg eine erstaunliche Klangvielfalt, die von klassischen analogen Klängen bis hin zu modernen, kantigen digitalen Sounds reicht. Die Sounds können einfach über die fünf Drehregler auf der Oberseite des Synthesizers eingestellt werden, was eine intuitive und einfache Klangmanipulation ermöglicht.

Was uns aber am meisten interessiert, ist der 8-Band Vocoder. Mit einem abnehmbaren Schwanenhalsmikrofon, das in den Synthesizer gesteckt wird, lassen sich klassische Vocoder-Klänge erzeugen. Von Roboterstimmen bis hin zu singenden Synthesizern bietet der MicroKorg Vocoder eine große Bandbreite an Klangformungsmöglichkeiten und kann sogar externe Audioquellen mit Effekten versehen.

Besonders hilfreich finde ich bei diesem Gerät, dass man alle Parameter auch am PC oder Mac über den microKORG Sound Editor einstellen kann, was die Bedienung enorm erleichtert.

Link: Korg Micro Korg Analog Modelling Synthesizer (399 €)

Boss VO-1

Boss VO-1 Vocoder
Boss VO-1 Vocoder

Wer Pedale mag, ist mit dem VO-1 gut bedient. Dieses Vocoder-Pedal verwendet ein normales Instrumentensignal (am besten das einer E-Gitarre), das dann mit der Stimme moduliert wird. Neben zwei Vocoder-Sounds (Advanced für moderne Sounds, Vintage für den klassischen Vocoder-Sound der 70/80er Jahre) gibt es auch eine Talkbox-Funktion, die den Klang von Talkboxen emuliert, ohne dass man den charakteristischen Schlauch benötigt.

Der vierte Modus, Choir, erzeugt die Stimmen automatisch, ohne dass man ins Mikrofon sprechen muss. Alles in allem ein tolles Werkzeug für Gitarristen, die Wert auf Portabilität legen. Und da dieses Pedal von Boss hergestellt wird und Boss eine Tochterfirma von Roland ist, kannst du sicher sein, dass die Soundqualität vom Feinsten ist.

Link: Boss VO-1 Vocoder (209 €)

Weiterlesen:

Teile diesen Artikel

Wir recherchieren, testen, prüfen und empfehlen unabhängig die besten Produkte. Wenn du etwas über unsere Links kaufst, erhalten wir ggf. eine Provision.

Weitere Beiträge
Die besten Reverb-Pedale
Gear
Die besten Reverb-Pedale für Gitarristen und Produzenten
Ein Reverb-Pedal kann der Gitarre eine unglaubliche Tiefe verleihen und den Klang enorm bereichern. Egal, ob dein Verstärker bereits einen eingebauten Hall hat oder nicht ...
Read More →
Die besten Chorus-Pedale
Gear
Die 8 besten Chorus-Pedale für Gitarristen und Produzenten
Chorus-Pedale waren in den 80er Jahren besonders beliebt und Legenden wie Kurt Kobain oder John Frusciante machten sie in den 90er Jahren noch populärer. Heute ...
Read More →
Die besten Distortion-Pedale
Gear
Die besten Distortion/Verzerrer Pedale für E-Gitarre
Heute sind Distortion-Pedale beliebter denn je - im digitalen Zeitalter, in dem viele Gitarristen ohne Verstärker oder mit Transistorverstärkern spielen, werden Distortion-Pedale sehr häufig eingesetzt, ...
Read More →
Die besten Laptops für Musikproduktion
Gear
Die 12 besten Laptops für Musikproduktion
Lange Zeit glaubte man, man müsse unbedingt ein Apple-Laptop haben, um unterwegs Musik zu produzieren - das ist längst nicht mehr der Fall. Auch wenn ...
Read More →
Die besten Delay-Pedale
Gear
Die besten Delay-Pedale in 2024
Delay-Pedale gehören zu den beliebtesten Pedalen von Gitarristen - ein Delay-Effekt erzeugt Tiefe und einen atmosphärischen Sound, der mit anderen Mitteln nicht zu erreichen ist. ...
Read More →
Schlagzeug Noten lesen lernen
Uncategorized
Schlagzeug Noten lesen: So geht’s
Schlagzeuger haben ihre eigenen Noten - sie sind besonders wichtig, wenn man Schlagzeug in einer Musikschule lernt. Aber auch für Schlagzeuger, die in vielen verschiedenen ...
Read More →