What are LUFS and what are they for?

What are LUFS?

Table of contents

Have you ever been listening to music when suddenly the next song starts and it's so loud that you have to turn down the volume? Or the other way around: you have to raise the volume a lot so that the new song sounds as loud as the old one. This happens when the music is not mastered at a constant volume (whether on an album, on different streaming sites, etc.) and therefore the perceived volume becomes noticeably unbalanced during playback.

To avoid exactly these problems, the LUFS were developed, a standard for volume measurements. This allows each platform to specify LUTS so that mastering engineers know what volume to master the song to.

In this article we explain what you need to know about LUFS, the new way of measuring levels in audio, and what it means to use it in music production.

What are LUFS?

LUFS is a new method for measuring audio levels and loudness. It takes into account human hearing patterns that correlate better with reality than other measurement methods, such as dB.

Example of volume measurement
Example of volume measurement with iZotope Insights (Source of image: iZotope.com)

The acronym stands for Loudness Units Full Scale or Loudness Units Relative to Full Scale.

What was the LUFS invented for?

There were 2 main objectives in the invention of LUFs:

  1. The other and more important goal is to standardize the volume of television and radio broadcasts, which ultimately affects the world of music production and streaming, as mastering engineers now have to master at different volumes depending on the platform.
  2. The other and more important goal is to, standardise the volume of television and radio broadcasts, which ultimately also has an impact on the world of music production and streaming, since mastering In the meantime, producers have to master at different volumes depending on the platform.

Loudness in the last century - "The Loudness War

The war for volume on streaming platforms like Spotify, Apple Music or YouTube is over or about to end.

For years, mastering engineers have fought over the loudest tracks. The assumption has been that a song is perceived as "better" or "hornier" if it is louder.

That's good news! Because mastering is no longer just about who masters the loudest, but who masters the best.

Sound engineers in the world of radio and television have been trying for some time, through various initiatives, to avoid abrupt volume jumps between programmes and commercials, as such jumps interfere with the enjoyment of the user, who then changes the channel during commercial breaks because he is startled.

These concepts were eventually adopted by other digital music streaming platforms in a similar way, such as Spotify, Tidal or Apple Music.

The purpose of these regulations is to standardise or normalise the average loudness value rather than the peak values that have been used so far.

That is, instead of requiring that the peaks reach a certain level without taking into account that the average volume might be too high, we now require that the average level of the volume corresponds to a certain standard.

The goal is to achieve a average for the entire program.

In this way, the aim is to ensure that the volume, which is closely related to the average level, of a programme and of the commercial breaks is uniform.

LUFS: Practical implementation in music production

The realisation has two parts, one in the production and the other in the reproduction by the final medium.

  • On the production side, it's a matter of adjusting the average level to a value determined by the medium being processed (e.g. -14 dB when mastering for Spotify).
  • On the other hand, the playback side has a system built in that evaluates the level of the music. As soon as a song has a lower or higher LUFS value than what the platform specifies, the volume of the song is raised or lowered (by a limiter, among other things).

That's why it's extremely important to master too loudly rather than too softly, because you never know how your song will sound when Spotify raises the volume with a limiter. Your mix can change, and suddenly the bass or vocals can be too loud.

YouLean is a very good and free VST plugin to set the volume
YouLean is a very good and free VST Pluginto measure the LUFS

But when Spotify reduces the volume, you can be sure that your mix remains the same, because here only a "fader" reduces the volume without compressing the song.

If the nominal level is e.g. -14 dB (Yes, LUFs are also measured in dB!) and the file has a level of 10 dB when analysed, i.e. 4 dB above, this information is stored and when the file is played, the level is reduced so that it corresponds to the default level suggested by the platform.

Considering that most digital streaming platforms have this system built in, it no longer makes sense to look for the maximum possible volume, as the platforms bring the volume to the level they set and any deviation is corrected when the file is played.

So it's enough to make sure that the song at least meets the requirements of the platform, but doesn't fall below.

If mastering is done with the aim of achieving a high volume level, it only reduces our chances of getting good audio quality, as you have to distort the peaks, and the best possible representation of our music, as the platforms will automatically adjust the level at the end.

Instead, good mastering engineers these days can concentrate on just making the song sound good.

The paradigm shift levels the playing field between super productions and more modest productions, avoiding over-compression that leads to a loss of sound quality in transients, detail and clarity.

Waves WLM Meter is my favourite plugin to measure the LUFs.
Waves WLM Meter is my favourite plugin to measure the LUFs.

LUFs: The new measurement standard

For EBU research, a new way of measuring average level was needed to get closer to the perception of loudness. The resulting measure is called LUFS (Loudness Units Relative to Full Scale).

The measurement has a frequency weighting component and an integration over time to match the way our hearing works. The integration can be short, 400 ms, short 4 seconds, or integrated, which includes the period from the start of playback to the pause.

Accordingly, different values are obtained during the measurement: Short Term (4 sec), Momentary (400msec) and Integrated (over the entire length of the song).

The average level we should aim for is given in LUFS and the optimal level depends on the platform we have to work with. The table shows some reference values for the LUFS level that the final master should aim for.

PlatformRecommended LUFs in dB
Spotify-14
Youtube-13
Apple Music-16
Tidal-14
Amazon Music-14

Although all these platforms aim for a different level, unfortunately the music aggregators on them usually only allow you to upload a digital file, so you have to cope with a compromise.

In such a case the compromise should be close to -14 LUFS, which is an intermediate value between the platforms and allows us not to aim for too high a level during mastering and thus achieve a result with more dynamics.

LUFS vs RMS

LUFS has established itself as the standard measure for mastering - but there are also other volume units. In the audio engineering world, one often encounters RMS values.

RMS measures - just like LUFS - the continuous audio level, not the instantaneous one. The difference, however, is that LUFS - due to better algorithm curves - much better represents the perceived loudness of the human ear.

LUFS provide a much more accurate analysis of the audio based on the so-called Munson curves. These curves represent the way we humans perceive sound much better than the measurement technology behind RMS.

One difference, for example, is that we humans can hear mid frequencies much more easily than bass frequencies. So a very bass-heavy song might indicate a high RMS level - just like a song with a very loud guitar. But we humans would perceive the song with the loud guitar as louder because our ear is simply much more sensitive to these frequencies.

However, in this case, the LUFS level for the song with the loud guitar would be higher than that of the bass-heavy song. And that's exactly why you work with LUFS in mastering.

RMS level meter in Ableton Live
RMS level meter in Ableton Live

This doesn't mean that you don't use RMS at all - quite the opposite. RMS is often used for mixing and recording, as many DAWs work with these values in the individual channels. Therefore, you should also know the basics and limitations of RMS.

LUFS: How do I ensure good levels?

Even though the new standard was developed to avoid an excess of compression/limiting, the real levels are also measured here. We need to measure the peaks with a real peak meter that calculates what happens when we switch the signal from digital to analogue.

The purpose of this measurement is to avoid the distortion that occurs with some converters and especially when creating a file with data compression such as mp3 or AAC. This type of file increases the final level of the master and can therefore cause distortion.

The standard suggests that the peak values are - 1 dBTP/-0.5dBTP, True Peak. This way you are always on the safe side and avoid distortion. Meters that have the LUFS standard usually include the true peak measurement.

Best VST plugins to measure LUFS

WLM Loudness Meter from Waves

Waves WLM Meter is my favourite plugin to measure the LUFs.
Waves WLM Meter is my favourite plugin to measure the LUFs.

The WLM Loudness Meter from Waves is in my opinion the best plug-in to measure the level. It shows Short Term LUFS, Long Term LUFS and the dynamic range in a big way to have the most important values immediately in view.

I like simple, uncluttered plugins that do what they're supposed to do without too many features I don't even need - that's why I like this plugin so much. And it's cheap too! (approx. 30€)

YouLean

YouLean is a very good and free VST plugin to set the volume
YouLean is a very good and free VST plugin to measure the LUFS

YouLean is a free plugin that I can recommend to everyone. The most important LUFS values are measured precisely and even displayed graphically. Besides the level values, the Dynamic Range (difference in volume between the quietest and loudest levels).

You can change the view and have beautiful graphics displayed. And you can drag and drop another track and analyse it to compare the LUFS values with your track. Very practical!

TC Electronic Clarity M Stereo

tc electronic Clarity M Stereo
tc electronic Clarity M Stereo

I know this is not a VST plug-in, but it is an external monitor that can be used in conjunction with a plug-in in your DAW works. In the monitor you can see all the LUFS values measured by the plug-in. It can also work without the plug-in if you connect two audio cables directly to the unit, which is very useful for analogue setups.

Besides the LUFS values, you also have a detailed Vectorscope for L/R analysis, a Real TIme Analyser and a Balnce-O-Meter for L/R and M/S - all very helpful for mastering.

Wood and Fire on Social Media

We independently research, test, review and recommend the best products. If you buy something through our links, we may receive a commission.

SUBSONIC 808

This sample pack contains 62 of the best 808 basses in the industry! Subscribe to our newsletter and receive the samples immediately in your inbox.

Subsonic 808 sample pack

Free 808 Samples!

This sample pack contains 62 of the best 808 basses in the industry! Subscribe to our newsletter and receive the samples immediately in your inbox.

DEAL: Kaufe 1 Beat und erhalte 1 Beat deiner Wahl kostenlos dazu!

Was sind LUFS und wofür sind sie da?

Was sind LUFS?

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Hast du schon mal Musik gehört, als plötzlich das nächste Lied anfängt und es so laut ist, dass du die Lautstärke herunterdrehen musst? Oder andersrum: Du musst die Lautstärke stark anheben, damit der neue Song genauso Laut klingt, wie der alte. Das passiert, wenn die Musik nicht mit einer konstanten Lautstärke gemastert ist (egal ob auf einem Album, auf verschiedenen Streaming-Seiten usw.) und deshalb die wahrgenommene Lautstärke während der Wiedergabe merklich unausgewogen wird.

Um genau diese Probleme zu vermeiden, wurden die LUFS entwickelt, ein Standard für Lautstärkemessungen. Damit kann jede Plattform LUTS angeben, damit die Mastering-Ingenieure wissen, auf welche Lautstärke sie den Song mastern müssen.

In diesem Artikel erklären wir dir, was du über LUFS, die neue Art der Pegelmessung im Audiobereich, wissen musst und was es bedeutet, sie bei der Musikproduktion einzusetzen.

Was sind LUFS?

LUFS ist eine neue Methode zur Messung von Audiopegeln und Lautstärke. Sie berücksichtigt menschliche Hörmuster, die besser mit der Realität korrelieren als andere Messmethoden, wie zum Beispiel dB.

Beispiel für die Lautstärkemessung
Beispiel für die Lautstärkemessung mit iZotope Insights (Quelle des Bildes: iZotope.com)

Das Akronym steht für Loudness Units Full Scale oder Loudness Units Relative to Full Scale.

Wofür hat man die LUFS erfunden?

Bei der Erfindung der LUFs wurden hauptsächlich 2 Ziele verfolgt:

  1. Eines davon ist, dass wir eine Pegelmessung genauer mit unserer Wahrnehmung von Lautheit in Beziehung setzen können. Dementsprechend werden 2 Songs, die den selben LUTs-Pegel haben, von uns als gleich Laut wahrgenommen.
  2. Das andere und wichtigere Ziel ist es, die Lautstärke von Fernseh- und Radiosendungen zu standardisieren, was sich letztlich auch auf die Welt der Musikproduktion und des Streamings auswirkt, da Mastering Ingeneuere mittlerweile je nach Plattform auf verschienen Lautstärke mastern müssen.

Lautstärke im letzten Jahrhunder – “The Loudness War”

Der Krieg um die Lautstärke auf Streaming-Plattformen wie Spotify, Apple Music oder YouTube ist beendet oder steht kurz vor dem Ende.

Jahrelang haben Mastering-Ingeneuere um die lautesten Tracks gekämpft. Man ist davon ausgegangen, dass ein Song als “besser” oder “geiler” empfunden wird, wenn er lauter ist.

Das ist eine gute Nachricht! Denn so kommt es beim Mastering nicht mehr nur darauf an, wer am lautesten mastert, sondern wer am besten mastert.

Toningenieure in der Welt des Radios und Fernsehens versuchen schon seit einiger Zeit, durch verschiedene Initiativen abrupte Lautstärkesprünge zwischen Sendungen und Werbespots zu vermeiden, da solche Sprünge das Vergnügen des Nutzers beeinträchtigen, der dann während der Werbepausen den Sender wechselt, weil er erschrocken ist.

Diese Konzepte wurden schließlich auch von anderen digitalen Musikstreaming-Plattformen in ähnlicher Weise übernommen, wie zum Beispiel Spotify, Tidal oder Apple Music.

Der Zweck dieser Vorschriften ist es, den durchschnittlichen Lautheitswert zu standardisieren oder zu normalisieren, anstatt die Spitzenwerte, die bisher verwendet wurden.

Das heißt, anstatt zu verlangen, dass die Spitzenwerte ein bestimmtes Niveau erreichen, ohne zu berücksichtigen, dass das durchschnittliche Volumen zu hoch sein könnte, verlangen wir jetzt, dass der Durchschnitt des Volumens einem bestimmten Standard entspricht.

Es soll ein Durchschnittswert für das gesamte Programm erreicht werden.

Auf diese Weise wird angestrebt, dass die Lautstärke, die eng mit dem Durchschnittspegel zusammenhängt, eines Programms und der Werbeblöcke gleichmäßig ist.

LUFS: Praktische Umsetzung bei der Musikproduktion

Die Umsetzung hat zwei Teile, einen in der Produktion und den anderen in der Reproduktion durch das Endmedium.

  • Auf der Produktionsseite geht es darum, das Durchschnittsniveau an einen Wert anzupassen, der durch das zu bearbeitende Medium bestimmt wird (z. Bsp -14 dB, wenn man für Spotify mastert).
  • Auf der anderen Seite ist auf der Wiedergabeseite ein System eingebaut, das den Pegel der Musik auswertet. Sobald ein Song einen niedrigeren oder höheren LUFS-Wert hat, als das, was die Plattform vorgibt, wird die Lautstärke des Songs angehoben oder reduziert (durch einen Limiter, unter anderem).

Darum ist es extrem wichtig, lieber zu laut als zu leise zu mastern, da man nie weiß, wie dein Song klingen wird, wenn z. Bsp. Spotify die Lautstärke durch einen Limiter anhebt. Dein Mix kann sich ändern, und plötzlich können der Bass oder die Vocals zu laut sein.

YouLean ist ein sehr gutes und kostenloses VST Plugin, um die Lautstärke zu bestimmen
YouLean ist ein sehr gutes und kostenloses VST Plugin, um die Lautstärke zu bestimmen

Aber wenn Spotify die Lautstärke reduziert, kannst du sicher sein, dass dein Mix gleich bleibt, denn hier reduziert nur ein “Fader” die Lautstärke, ohne den Song zu komprimieren.

Wenn der Nennpegel z. B. -14 dB (Ja, LUFs werden auch in dB gemessen!) beträgt und die Datei bei der Analyse einen Pegel von 10 dB hat, also 4 dB darüber liegt, wird diese Information gespeichert und beim Abspielen der Datei wird der Pegel so reduziert, dass er dem von der Plattform vorgeschlagenen Standardpegel entspricht.

Wenn man bedenkt, dass die meisten digitalen Streaming-Plattformen dieses System integriert haben, macht es keinen Sinn mehr, nach der maximal möglichen Lautstärke zu suchen, da die Plattformen die Lautstärke auf das von ihnen festgelegte Niveau bringen und jede Abweichung beim Abspielen der Datei korrigiert wird.

Es reicht also, wenn du sicherstellst, dass der Song mindestens die Anforderungen der Plattform erfüllt, aber nicht darunter bleibt.

Wenn das Mastering mit dem Ziel durchgeführt wird, einen hohen Lautstärkepegel zu erreichen, verringern sich lediglich unsere Chancen auf eine gute Audioqualität, da man die Peaks verzerren muss, und eine bestmögliche Darstellung unserer Musik, da die Plattformen den Pegel am Ende automatisch anpassen werden.

Statdessen können sich gute Mastering-Engineers heutzutage darauf konzentrieren, den Song einfach nur gut klingen zu lassen.

Der Paradigmenwechsel gleicht das Spielfeld zwischen Superproduktionen und bescheideneren Produktionen aus und vermeidet eine Überkomprimierung, die zu einem Verlust an Klangqualität bei Transienten, Details und Klarheit führt.

Waves WLM Meter ist mein liebelings PLugin, um die LUFs zu messen
Waves WLM Meter ist mein Lieblingsplugin, um die LUFs zu messen.

LUFs: Der neue Messstandard

Für die EBU-Forschung war eine neue Art der Messung des Durchschnittspegels notwendig, um der Wahrnehmung von Lautheit näher zu kommen. Das daraus resultierende Maß wird LUFS (Loudness Units Relative to Full Scale) genannt.

Die Messung hat eine Frequenzbewertungskomponente und eine Integration über die Zeit, um der Funktionsweise unseres Gehörs zu entsprechen. Die Integration kann kurz sein, 400 ms, kurzzeitig 4 Sekunden oder integriert, was den Zeitraum vom Beginn der Wiedergabe bis zur Pause einbezieht.

Dementsprechend erhaltet man verschiedene Werte bei der Messung: Short Term (4 sek), Momentary (400msek) und Integrated (über die gesamte Länge des Songs).

Das durchschnittliche Niveau, das wir anstreben sollten, wird in LUFS angegeben, und das optimale Niveau hängt von der Plattform ab, mit der wir arbeiten müssen. Die Tabelle zeigt einige Referenzwerte für den LUFS-Wert, den der endgültige Master anstreben sollte.

PlattformEmpfohlene LUFs in dB
Spotify-14
Youtube-13
Apple Music-16
Tidal-14
Amazon Music-14

Obwohl alle diese Plattformen ein unterschiedliches Niveau anstreben, erlauben die Musikaggregatoren auf ihnen leider meist nur das Hochladen einer digitalen Datei, so dass man mit einem Kompromiss zurechtkommen muss.

In einem solchen Fall sollte der Kompromiss nahe bei -14 LUFS liegen, was ein Zwischenwert zwischen den Plattformen ist und es uns ermöglicht, beim Mastering keinen zu hohen Pegel anzustreben und so ein Ergebnis mit mehr Dynamik zu erzielen.

LUFS: Wie sorge ich für gute Pegeln?

Auch wenn der neue Standard dafür entwickelt wurde, einen Exzess an Kompression/Limiting zu vermeiden, werden hier auch die echten Pegel gemessen. Wir müssen die Spitzen mit einem echten Spitzenwertmesser messen, der berechnet, was passiert, wenn wir das Signal vom digitalen in den analogen Bereich umschalten.

Der Zweck dieser Messung ist es, die Verzerrungen zu vermeiden, die bei einigen Konvertern und insbesondere bei der Erstellung einer Datei mit Datenkompression wie mp3 oder AAC auftreten. Diese Art von Datei erhöht den endgültigen Pegel des Masters und kann daher zu Verzerrungen führen.

Die Norm schlägt vor, dass die Spitzenwerte – 1 dBTP/-0,5dBTP, True Peak, betragen. So ist man immer auf der sicheren Seite und vermeidet Verzerrungen. Messgeräte, die den LUFS-Standard haben, enthalten in der Regel die Messung der wahren Spitze.

Wood and Fire on Social media

SUBSONIC 808

Dieses Sample Pack beinhaltet 62 der besten 808-Bässe der Industrie! Abonniere unseren Newsletter und erhalte die Samples sofort in deinem Postfach.

Subsonic 808 sample pack

Kostenlose 808 Samples!

Dieses Sample Pack beinhaltet 62 der besten 808-Bässe der Industrie! Abonniere unseren Newsletter und erhalte die Samples sofort in deinem Postfach.