Recognizing, forming and using minor chords

Minor chords shape our musical world in an unparalleled way. Their melancholic and emotional timbres are at the heart of many of our favorite melodies and songs. In this article, we will explore what minor chords are, how they are formed, and most importantly, the essential role they play in the harmony of a song.
Table of contents

What are minor chords?

The minor chord is one of the two simple chord types (major and minor) that consists of three notes. It is one of the first concepts introduced when learning chords. Unlike major chords, minor chords sound sad and melancholy - which is why they are so important in songwriting.

How do you build a minor chord?

To build a simple minor chord, you need 3 notes:

  1. The root: This is the starting point of your chord and gives it its name. For example, the root of a C minor chord is C.
  2. The minor third: This is the next note in your chord, three semitones (a minor third) above the root. In a C minor chord, this would be an E flat.
  3. The fifth: This is the last note in your chord, seven semitones (a perfect fifth) above the root. In a C minor chord, this would be a G.

As an example, let's take the A minor chord (parallel key to C major), since it contains no sharps or flats:

The A minor chord in its simplest form
The A minor chord in its simplest form

More complex minor chords

But there is more than the simple three-note minor chord - by adding a fourth note, you can create more complex minor chords and interesting harmonies:

Minor seventh chord: This chord consists of the root, the minor third, the fifth and the minor seventh. In a C minor 7 (Cm7) these would be the notes C, Eb, G and Bb. It has a darker sound than a simple minor chord and is often used in jazz and blues music.

Mollmaj7: This chord is made up of the root, the minor third, the fifth and the major seventh. In a C minor major 7th (CmMaj7), these would be the notes C, Eb, G, and B. It conveys a bittersweet, melancholy mood and is often used in jazz and pop music.

Minor6: This chord is made up of the root, the minor third, the fifth and the major sixth. In a C minor6 (Cm6) these would be the notes C, Eb, G and A. It has a soft, warm sound and is often used in jazz and bossa nova.

Molladd9: This chord consists of the root, the minor third, the fifth and the major ninth (i.e. the second one an octave higher). In a C minor add9 (Cmadd9) these would be the notes C, Eb, G and D. It has a rich, wide sound and is often used in pop music.

Inversions of minor chords

Inversions make chords within a cadence much more interesting because they vary the voicing of each step. For example: If I go from G minor to A minor by simply transposing each note up a whole tone, it sounds boring and uninteresting because each voice only goes up one step at a time.

But when I work with inversions, it sounds much more interesting because now each voice goes in a different direction and has a different interval.

Inversions are very important in composition: in the upper variant, all the voices go in the same direction and the distances are the same for each voice; in the second variant, all the voices go in the same direction but with different distances. This makes the whole thing much more exciting and interesting.
Inversions are very important in composition: in the upper variant, all the voices go in the same direction and the distances are the same for each voice; in the second variant, all the voices go in the same direction but with different distances. This makes the whole thing much more exciting and interesting.

For each triad chord there are 2 different inversions in addition to the basic position:

  • Basic position: The fundamental is the lowest note. It is followed by the third and then the fifth.
  • First reversal: Here the fifth is the lowest, above it the fundamental and finally the third.
  • Second reversal: Here the third is at the bottom, followed by the fifth and finally the fundamental.

How do you use minor chords in compositions?

In major keys: as a predominant chord

In traditional Western music theory, the predominant is the chord that often precedes the dominant (V chord) and leads to the tonic (I chord) for resolution. Predominant chords help to build tension, which is then resolved by moving to the dominant and finally to the tonic.

In major keys, the predominant is usually the subdominant (IV) or the subdominant parallel (ii).

Let's take the key of C major as an example: The IV chord (subdominant) would be F major (F, A, C) and the ii chord (subdominant parallel) would be D minor (D, F, A). Both chords can act as a predominant leading to the dominant G major (G, B, D) and finally to the tonic C major (C, E, G).

When the ii chord is used as the predominant, it often has a subtly different emotional effect than when the iv chord is used. While the IV chord has a brighter, more open sound, the ii chord can produce a slightly more melancholic, intimate sound.

It is also common to use the ii chord together with the V chord in an ii-V-I progression, which is one of the most common chord progressions in jazz music. In this progression, the ii chord serves as a predominant leading to the dominant and then resolving to the tonic.

For minor keys: as tonic, dominant and subdominant

The circle of fifths illustrates this clearly: in minor keys, the tonic, dominant and subdominant are all minor chords. So you can build entire cadences using only minor chords if you want your song to have a sad or melancholic mood.

The song "Roots, Rock, Reggae" by Bob Marley is a good example of this: it uses only minor chords in the chord progression i-iv-i-v.

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

In Conclusion

Minor chords open up many possibilities for expressing emotion, creating musical arcs of tension, and refining the sonic image of a composition. Often associated with sad or mournful moods, they can also convey depth, complexity, and emotional nuance.

After all, the creative use of chords and harmonies is a central element in creating music that is memorable and moving to the listener. Learning and understanding minor chords is therefore essential for any musician.

Keep reading: Using diminished chords to bring more tension into your compositions

Share this article

We independently research, test, review and recommend the best products. If you buy something through our links, we may receive a commission.

Ad

Table of contents

Subscribe to our newsletter and never miss a thing!

Gear
Find us on Youtube!
YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

More articles

Table of contents

More articles
News
Analysis: The most popular song lyrics worldwide
Which song lyrics are most frequently searched for worldwide? We investigated this question with intensive research and analysed which song lyrics are most frequently searched for on Google.
Read More →
News
Research: The world's most played songs and riffs
Which songs do musicians around the world want to play the most? We investigated this exciting question and researched which song chords and guitar riffs are most popular worldwide.
Read More →
The best German cities for musicians
For artists
Study: The best German cities for musicians
Which German city is the best place for musicians to live? We looked into this question and conducted a study of the 40 largest cities in Germany
Read More →
Gear
Ranked: Which electric guitars hold their value the best?
We have analysed the used prices of the 40 best-selling electric guitars and compared them with the new prices. We show which electric guitars sell for the most on the second-hand market and which ...
Read More →
For artists
The most popular synthesizer brands by country
We have analysed the Google search queries of the 6 most popular synthesizer brands in 118 countries and evaluated the results. The results are very interesting and show, above all, ...
Read More →
The best reverb pedals
Gear
The best reverb pedals for guitarists and producers
A reverb pedal can add incredible depth to the guitar and enrich the sound enormously. Regardless of whether your amplifier already has a built-in reverb or not ...
Read More →

Moll-Akkorde erkennen, bilden und verwenden

Moll-Akkorde prägen unsere Musikwelt auf unvergleichliche Weise. Ihre melancholischen und emotionalen Klangfarben bilden den Kern vieler unserer liebsten Melodien und Lieder. In diesem Artikel untersuchen wir, was Mollakkorde sind, wie sie gebildet werden und vor allem, welche wichtige Rolle sie in der Harmonie eines Liedes spielen.
Inhaltsverzeichnis

Was sind Moll-Akkorde?

Der Mollakkord ist einer der beiden einfachen Akkordtypen (Dur und Moll), der aus drei Tönen besteht. Beim Lernen von Akkorden gehört er zu den ersten Konzepten, die eingeführt werden. Im Kontrast zu Dur-Akkorden klingen Moll-Akkorde traurig und melancholisch – deshalb sind sie ein so wichtiges Mittel bei der Komposition von Liedern.

Wie bildet man einen Moll-Akkord?

Um einen einfachen Moll-Akkord zu bilden, braucht man 3 Noten:

  1. Der Grundton: Das ist der Startpunkt deines Akkords und gibt ihm seinen Namen. Zum Beispiel ist der Grundton in einem C-Moll-Akkord das C.
  2. Die kleine Terz: Das ist die nächste Note in deinem Akkord, sie liegt drei Halbtonschritte (eine kleine Terz) über den Grundton. In einem C-Moll-Akkord wäre das also ein Es.
  3. Die Quinte: Das ist die letzte Note in deinem Akkord, sie liegt sieben Halbtonschritte (eine reine Quinte) über den Grundton. In einem C-Moll-Akkord wäre das ein G.

Als Beispiel betrachten wir den A-Moll-Akkord (Paralleltonart zu C-Dur), da er keine Kreuze oder b’s enthält:

Der a-Moll-Akkord in seiner einfachsten Form
Der a-Moll-Akkord in seiner einfachsten Form

Weitere komplexere Moll-Akkorde

Es gibt aber nicht nur den einfachen Moll-Akkord aus drei Tönen – durch Hinzufügen eines vierten Tones lassen sich komplexere Moll-Akkorde bauen und interessante Harmonien erzeugen:

Mollseptakkord: Dieser Akkord besteht aus dem Grundton, der kleinen Terz, der Quinte und der kleinen Septime. In einem C-Moll-7 (Cm7) wären das die Noten C, Eb, G und Bb. Er hat einen dunkleren Klang als ein einfacher Mollakkord und wird oft in Jazz- und Bluesmusik verwendet.

Mollmaj7: Dieser Akkord besteht aus dem Grundton, der kleinen Terz, der Quinte und der großen Septime. In einem C-Mollmaj7 (CmMaj7) wären das die Noten C, Eb, G und B. Er vermittelt eine bittersüße, melancholische Stimmung und wird oft in Jazz- und Popmusik verwendet wird.

Moll6: Dieser Akkord besteht aus dem Grundton, der kleinen Terz, der Quinte und der großen Sexte. In einem C-Moll6 (Cm6) wären das die Noten C, Eb, G und A. Er hat einen sanften, warmen Klang und wird oft in Jazz und Bossa Nova verwendet.

Molladd9: Dieser Akkord besteht aus dem Grundton, der kleinen Terz, der Quinte und der großen None (also die Sekunde eine Oktave höher). In einem C-Molladd9 (Cmadd9) wären das die Noten C, Eb, G und D. Er hat einen reichen, weiten Klang und wird oft in Popmusik verwendet

Umkehrungen von Moll-Akkorde

Umkehrungen machen Akkorde viel interessanter innerhalb einer Kadenz, weil dadurch die Stimmführung jeder einzelnen Stufe variiert. Als Beispiel: Wenn ich von g-Moll auf a-Moll übergehe, indem ich einfach jede Note ein ganzen Ton nach oben transponiere, klingt das langweilig und uninteressant, weil jede Stimme immer nur einen Schritt nach oben geht.

Aber wenn ich mit Umkehrungen arbeite, klingt es viel interessanter, weil jetzt jede Stimme in eine andere Richtung geht und ein anderes Intervall hat.

Umkehrungen sind in der Komposition sehr wichtig: In der oberen Variante gehen alle Stimmen in die gleiche Richtung und die Abstände sind für jede Stimme gleich; in der zweiten Variante gehen alle Stimmen zwar in die gleiche Richtung, aber mit unterschiedlichen Abständen. Das macht das Ganze viel spannender und interessanter.
Umkehrungen sind in der Komposition sehr wichtig: In der oberen Variante gehen alle Stimmen in die gleiche Richtung und die Abstände sind für jede Stimme gleich; in der zweiten Variante gehen alle Stimmen zwar in die gleiche Richtung, aber mit unterschiedlichen Abständen. Das macht das Ganze viel spannender und interessanter.

Für jeden Dreiklang-Akkord gibt es neben der Grundposition 2 verschiedene Umkehrungen:

  • Grundposition: Hier ist der Grundton der tiefste Ton, darüber folgt die Terz und zuletzt die Quinte.
  • Erste Umkehrung: Hier steht die Quinte am tiefsten, darüber der Grundton und zuletzt die Terz.
  • Zweite Umkehrung: Hier steht die Terz ganz unten, dann folgt die Quinte und zuletzt der Grundton.

Wie verwendet man Moll-Akkorde in Kompositionen?

Bei Dur-Tonarten: als Prädominante

In der traditionellen westlichen Musiktheorie ist die Prädominante der Akkord, der häufig der Dominante (V-Akkord) vorangeht und zur Auflösung in die Tonika (I-Akkord) führt. Prädominante Akkorde tragen zum Aufbau von Spannung bei, die dann durch die Bewegung zur Dominante und schließlich zur Tonika aufgelöst wird.

In Durtonarten ist die Prädominante typischerweise die Subdominante (IV) oder die Subdominantparallele (ii).

Nehmen wir als Beispiel die Tonart C-Dur: Der IV-Akkord (Subdominante) wäre F-Dur (F, A, C) und der ii-Akkord (Subdominantparallele) wäre D-Moll (D, F, A). Beide Akkorde können als Prädominante fungieren, die zur Dominante G-Dur (G, B, D) und schließlich zur Tonika C-Dur (C, E, G) führt.

Wenn der II-Akkord als Prädominante verwendet wird, hat dies oft eine subtil andere emotionale Wirkung als die Verwendung des IV-Akkords. Während der IV-Akkord einen helleren, offeneren Klang hat, kann der ii-Akkord einen etwas melancholischeren, intimeren Klang erzeugen.

Es ist auch üblich, den ii-Akkord zusammen mit dem V-Akkord in einer ii-V-I-Progression zu verwenden, die eine der häufigsten Akkordprogressionen in der Jazzmusik ist. In dieser Progression dient der ii-Akkord als Prädominante, die zur Dominante führt und dann in die Tonika aufgelöst wird.

Bei Moll-Tonarten: als Tonika, Dominante und Subdominante

Der Quintenzirkel macht dies deutlich: In Molltonarten sind Tonika, Dominante und Subdominante alles Mollakkorde. Du kannst also ganze Kadenzen nur mit Moll-Akkorden bauen, wenn dein Lied eine traurige oder melancholische Stimmung haben soll.

Der Song „Roots, Rock, Reggae“ von Bob Marley ist ein gutes Beispiel dafür: Dort werden nur Moll-Akkorde in der Akkordfolge i-iv-i-v verwendet.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Fazit

Moll-Akkorde eröffnen ein großes Spektrum an Möglichkeiten, Emotionen auszudrücken, musikalische Spannungsbögen zu erzeugen und das Klangbild einer Komposition zu verfeinern. Sie werden oft mit traurigen oder melancholischen Stimmungen in Verbindung gebracht, können aber auch Tiefe, Vielschichtigkeit und emotionale Nuancen vermitteln.

Schließlich ist gerade der kreative Umgang mit Akkorden und Harmonien ein zentrales Element, um Musik zu schaffen, die im Gedächtnis bleibt und den Zuhörer bewegt. Die Beschäftigung mit Mollakkorden ist daher für jeden Musiker eine lohnenswerte Aufgabe.

Passend dazu: Verminderte Akkorde bilden und verwenden, um mehr Spannung in deine Kompositionen zu bringen

Teile diesen Artikel

Wir recherchieren, testen, prüfen und empfehlen unabhängig die besten Produkte. Wenn du etwas über unsere Links kaufst, erhalten wir ggf. eine Provision.

Anzeige

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Newsletter abonnieren, um nichts zu verpassen!

Gear
Wir sind jetzt auch auf Youtube!
YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Weitere Artikel

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Weitere Beiträge
News
Eine Analyse: Die beliebtesten Songtexte der Welt
Welche Songtexte werden weltweit am häufigsten gesucht? Dieser Frage sind wir mit intensiven Recherchen nachgegangen und haben analysiert, welche Songtexte auf Google am häufigsten gesucht ...
Read More →
News
Studie: Die meistgespielten Songs und Riffs der Welt
Welche Songs wollen Musiker auf der ganzen Welt am häufigsten spielen? Dieser spannenden Frage sind wir nachgegangen und haben recherchiert, welche Songakkorde und Gitarrenriffs weltweit ...
Read More →
Die besten deutschen Städte für Musiker
Für Künstler
Studie: Die besten deutschen Städte für Musiker
In welcher deutschen Stadt leben Musiker am besten? Wir sind dieser Frage nac hgegange und haben eine Studie der 40 größten Städte in Deutschland gemacht
Read More →
Gear
Rangliste: Welche E-Gitarren haben den besten Wiederverkaufswert?
Wir haben die Gebrauchtpreise der 40 meistverkauften E-Gitarren untersucht und mit den Neupreisen verglichen. Wir zeigen, welche E-Gitarren auf dem Gebrauchtmarkt am meisten und welche ...
Read More →
Für Künstler
Die beliebtesten Synthesizer-Marken in jedem Land
Wir haben die Google-Suchanfragen der 6 beliebtesten Synthesizer-Marken in 118 Ländern analysiert und die Ergebnisse ausgewertet. Die Ergebnisse sind sehr interessant und zeigen vor allem, ...
Read More →
Die besten Reverb-Pedale
Gear
Die besten Reverb-Pedale für Gitarristen und Produzenten
Ein Reverb-Pedal kann der Gitarre eine unglaubliche Tiefe verleihen und den Klang enorm bereichern. Egal, ob dein Verstärker bereits einen eingebauten Hall hat oder nicht ...
Read More →