Research: The world's most played songs and riffs

What songs do musicians around the world want to play the most? We investigated this intriguing question and found out which song chords and guitar riffs are the most searched for around the world.

Move your mouse over the countries to find out more

Go straight to the results

There are many polls and lists of the most popular songs for guitarists, where musicians can vote for their favorite songs. However, these polls are only partially meaningful because they only capture the opinions of a limited number of people.

We wanted to do a more detailed analysis, so we looked at which chords and tabs are searched for the most around the world. Since almost everyone searches for chords and tabs on Google these days, we looked at and analyzed all searches for these chords on Google. A total of 271 songs and 2,314,336 Google searches were analyzed.

Our analysis aims to show which songs are played most often in which countries and which songs are searched for most frequently worldwide in absolute numbers. The top 3 songs for each country can be seen on the map above.

The differences between the countries

The differences between countries with the same language are particularly interesting: while in the USA "Hallelujah" by Jeff Buckley (original by Leonard Cohen) is played most often, in Great Britain it is "Let it Be" by the Beatles. And in Canada it is "House of the Rising Sun" by The Animals.

The popularity of Elvis Presley's "Can't Help Falling In Love" in South America is also remarkable. It is the most played song in 12 countries on the continent, including Mexico, Argentina and Colombia. It is considered the most popular wedding song in the world - no wonder it is performed so often.

But the European continent is very colorful - each country has its own taste. In the southern countries of Spain and Italy, "Wish You Were Here" by Pink Floyd is played most often, while France, Denmark and Sweden prefer "Hallelujah".

In the UK, it is not surprising that "Let It Be" by The Beatles is the most played song - after all, The Beatles are the most successful British band of all time. The song is also the most played in Germany.

In Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan, local songs in the local language are the most popular, as well as in the Philippines and Indonesia.

Unfortunately, we could only find a small amount of data in Africa, as Google is not as widely used there.

The world's most played songs in absolute terms

"Hallelujah" is number one in the world and number one in many countries around the world, including the USA, Sweden, France and Australia. It is also one of the most covered songs in music history.

The original was written by Leonard Cohen in 1984 and gained some popularity. In 1991, John Cale reinterpreted the song and had a little more success with it. This version in turn inspired Jeff Buckley to create a new interpretation that became incredibly popular worldwide. The song was then included in Rolling Stone's list of "The 500 Greatest Songs of All Time".

It speaks to almost everyone in the world with its themes of love and loss, coupled with biblical references and incredible poetry.

Ed Sheeran's love song "Perfect" follows in second place. No wonder: the song has been listened to 3.7 billion times on YouTube and 2.9 billion times on Spotify. The song is also a perfect guitar ballad, ideal for playing and singing along.

"Wish You Were Here" by Pink Floyd comes in third and is the most popular song in Spain, Italy and Brazil. Also about love, with a striking guitar riff, this song is perfect for playing and singing alone on an acoustic guitar.

So we can conclude that love songs are the most popular. This is not surprising because everyone can relate to this feeling, whether it is with their partner, friends or family.

The world's most played guitar riffs

We also asked ourselves which guitar riffs are the most popular. It is reasonable to assume that people searching for popular guitar riffs would type "song title + tab" or "song title + guitar tab" (or the translation in the respective language) into Google. We examined and analyzed exactly these searches. The results are as follows:

This is where the famous "forbidden riff" joke on the guitar comes from: the first 4 songs are played so often that the staff in the guitar departments of music stores can no longer hear them.

For example, "Seven Nation Army" by The White Stripes is by far the most played song - probably because the melody is very simple and extremely catchy. Even in football stadiums, fans often sing the famous riff.

Second on the list is "Staiway to Heaven", THE ultimate forbidden riff. The iconic guitar intro has influenced generations of guitarists - almost every guitarist has probably played it a few times in their life.

"Come As You Are" by Nirvana comes in third. Also a fairly simple but catchy riff, like most of Nirvana's songs. It is played with the famous Electro Harmonix Small Clone chorus pedal. Surprisingly, many more people search for these tabs than for Smells Like Teen Spirit. In the US, Smells Like Teen Spirit is actually more popular, but worldwide Come As You Are is the most popular Nirvana song to play. Maybe it's because the riff of Smells Like Teen Spirit is so simple that guitarists can play it without tabs (it's only 4 power chords).

The band with the most appearances on the list is Metallica, with a total of 5 songs.

The most played songs in the USA

The most played songs in the UK

The most played songs in Germany

The most played songs in Spain

The data comes from Semrush, the world's most popular and reliable keyword tool. Semrush has the largest Google keyword database in the world and regularly updates the search volume.

Using this tool, we found the most popular Google searches ("song + chords", "song + tabs", with different variations such as "guitar tabs" or "guitar chords" and the respective translations in each language) in each country and compared them.

The searches were then entered into Google's Keyword Planner tool to verify the volume of searches. This is Google's official tool for determining search volume.

Share this article

More articles
lyricsmap
News
Analysis: The most popular song lyrics worldwide
Which song lyrics are most frequently searched for worldwide? We investigated this question with intensive research and analysed which song lyrics are most frequently searched for on Google.
Read More →
The best German cities for musicians
For artists
Study: The best German cities for musicians
Which German city is the best place for musicians to live? We looked into this question and conducted a study of the 40 largest cities in Germany
Read More →
GrafikTopSellers Horizontal OPt
Gear
Ranked: Which electric guitars hold their value the best?
We have analysed the used prices of the 40 best-selling electric guitars and compared them with the new prices. We show which electric guitars sell for the most on the second-hand market and which ...
Read More →
Map1
For artists
The most popular synthesizer brands by country
We have analysed the Google search queries of the 6 most popular synthesizer brands in 118 countries and evaluated the results. The results are very interesting and show, above all, ...
Read More →
The best reverb pedals
Gear
The best reverb pedals for guitarists and producers
A reverb pedal can add incredible depth to the guitar and enrich the sound enormously. Regardless of whether your amplifier already has a built-in reverb or not ...
Read More →
The best chorus pedals
Gear
The 8 best chorus pedals for guitarists and producers
Chorus pedals were particularly popular in the 80s and legends like Kurt Kobain or John Frusciante made them even more popular in the 90s. Today ...
Read More →

Studie: Die meistgespielten Songs und Riffs der Welt

Welche Songs wollen Musiker auf der ganzen Welt am häufigsten spielen? Dieser spannenden Frage sind wir nachgegangen und haben recherchiert, welche Songakkorde und Gitarrenriffs weltweit am häufigsten gesucht werden.

Fahre mit der Maus über die Länder, um mehr zu erfahren

Direkt zu den Ergebnissen

Es gibt viele Umfragen und Listen über die beliebtesten Songs für Gitarristen, bei denen Musiker für ihre Lieblingssongs abstimmen können. Diese Umfragen sind jedoch nur begrenzt aussagekräftig, da sie nur die Meinungen einer begrenzten Anzahl von Personen erfassen.

Wir wollten eine genauere Analyse durchführen und haben deshalb untersucht, welche Akkorde und Tabs weltweit am häufigsten gesucht werden. Da heutzutage fast jeder nach Akkorden und Tabs bei Google sucht, haben wir uns die gesamten Suchanfragen nach genau diesen Akkorden bei Google angeschaut und ausgewertet. Dazu wurden 271 Songs und ein Volumen von 2.314.336 Google-Suchanfragen ausgewertet.

Unsere Analyse soll zeigen, welche Songs in welchen Ländern am häufigsten nachgespielt werden und welche Songs in absoluten Zahlen weltweit am häufigsten gesucht werden. Die Top 3 Songs für jedes Land sind auf der Karte oben zu sehen.

Die Unterschiede zwischen den Ländern

Besonders interessant sind die Unterschiede zwischen den einzelnen Ländern gleicher Sprache: Während in den USA „Hallelujah“ von Jeff Buckley (Original von Leonard Cohen) am häufigsten nachgespielt wird, ist es in Großbritannien „Let it Be“ von den Beatles. Und in Kanada ist es „House of the Rising Sun“ von The Animals.

Bemerkenswert ist auch die Popularität von Elvis Presleys „Can’t Help Falling In Love“ in Südamerika. Es ist das meistgespielte Lied in 12 Ländern des Kontinents, darunter Mexiko, Argentinien und Kolumbien. Es gilt als das beliebteste Hochzeitslied der Welt – kein Wunder, dass es so oft vorgetragen wird.

Doch der europäische Kontinent ist sehr bunt – jedes Land hat seinen eigenen Geschmack. In den südlichen Ländern Spanien und Italien wird am häufigsten „Wish You Were Here“ von Pink Floyd gespielt, während Frankreich, Dänemark und Schweden „Hallelujah“ bevorzugen.

In UK ist es wenig überraschend, das „Let It Be“ von The Beatles das meistgespielte Lied ist, schließlich sind die Beatles die erfolgreichste britische Band aller Zeiten. Auch in Deutschland wird das Lied am häufigsten gespielt.

In Russland, Weißrussland und Kasachstan sind lokale Lieder in der jeweiligen Landessprache am beliebtesten, ebenso auf den Philippinen und in Indonesien.

In Afrika konnten wir leider nur wenige Daten finden, da Google dort nicht so häufig genutzt wird.

Die meistgespielten Songs in absoluten Zahlen

„Hallelujah“ belegt den ersten Platz der Weltrangliste und ist auch in vielen Ländern der Welt die Nummer eins, z.B. in den USA, Schweden, Frankreich oder Australien. Es ist auch eines der am meisten gecoverten Lieder der Musikgeschichte.

Das Original stammt von Leonard Cohen aus dem Jahr 1984 und erlangte eine gewisse Popularität. 1991 interpretierte John Cale das Lied neu und hatte damit etwas mehr Erfolg. Diese Version inspirierte wiederum Jeff Buckley zu einer Neuinterpretation, die weltweit unglaublich populär wurde. Der Song wurde dann von Rolling Stone in die Liste „The 500 Greatest Songs of All Time“ aufgenommen.

Die Themen Liebe und Verlust, gepaart mit biblischen Bezügen und einer unglaublichen Dichtkunst, sprechen einfach fast jeden Menschen auf der Welt an.

Auf Platz zwei folgt Ed Sheerans Liebeslied „Perfect“. Kein Wunder: Der Song wurde 3,7 Milliarden Mal auf Youtube und 2,9 Milliarden Mal auf Spotify angehört. Außerdem ist das Lied eine perfekte Gitarrenballade, die sich hervorragend zum Gitarrespielen und Mitsingen eignet.

Wish You Were Here“ von Pink Floyd belegt den dritten Platz und ist das beliebteste Lied in Spanien, Italien und Brasilien. Auch hier steht das Thema Liebe im Vordergrund, mit einem markanten Gitarrenriff – auch dieses Lied eignet sich hervorragend, um es alleine auf der Akustikgitarre zu spielen und zu singen.

Wir können also feststellen, dass Liebeslieder am beliebtesten sind. Das ist nicht verwunderlich, denn jeder kann sich mit diesem Gefühl identifizieren, sei es mit dem Partner, mit Freunden oder mit der Familie.

Die meistgespielten Gitarrenriffs der Welt

Wir haben uns auch gefragt, welche Gitarrenriffs besonders beliebt sind. Man kann davon ausgehen, dass Leute, die nach beliebten Gitarrenriffs suchen, bei Google „Songtitel + Tab“ oder „Songtitel + Guitar Tab“ (bzw. die Übersetzung in der jeweiligen Sprache) eingeben. Genau diese Suchanfragen haben wir untersucht und analysiert. Dabei kam Folgendes heraus:

Man sieht also, woher der berühmte Spaß mit dem „verbotenen Riff“ auf der Gitarre kommt: Die ersten 4 Songs werden einfach so oft gespielt, dass die Angestellten in den Gitarrenabteilungen der Musikgeschäfte sie nicht mehr hören können.

So ist „Seven Nation Army“ von The White Stripes das mit Abstand meistgespielte Lied – wahrscheinlich, weil die Melodie sehr einfach und extrem einprägsam ist. Selbst in Fußballstadien wird das bekannte Riff oft von den Fans mitgesungen.

„Staiway to Heaven“ steht an zweiter Stelle und ist DAS verbotene Riff überhaupt. Das ikonische Gitarren-Intro hat Gitarristen über Generationen hinweg geprägt – fast jeder Gitarrist hat es sicher schon ein paar Mal in seinem Leben gespielt.

„Come As You Are“ von Nirvana belegt den dritten Platz. Auch ein recht einfaches, aber einprägsames Riff, wie die meisten von Nirvana. Gespielt wird es mit dem bekannten Electro Harmonix Small Clone Chorus Pedal. Erstaunlicherweise suchen viel mehr Leute nach diesen Tabs als nach Smells Like Teen Spirit. In den USA ist Smells Like Teen Spirit tatsächlich beliebter, aber weltweit ist Come As You Are der beliebteste Nirvana-Song zum Nachspielen. Vielleicht liegt es daran, dass der Riff von Smells Like Teen Spirit so einfach ist, dass Gitarristen ihn ohne Tabs spielen können (es sind ja nur 4 Powerchords).

Die Band, die am meisten auf der Liste aufgeführt ist, ist Metallica, mit insgesamt 5 Songs.

Die meistgespielten Songs in den USA

Die meistgespielten Songs in UK

Die meistgespielten Songs in Deutschland

Die meistgespielten Songs in Spanien

Die Daten stammen von Semrush, dem weltweit beliebtesten und zuverlässigsten Keyword-Tool. Semrush verfügt über die größte Google Keyword-Datenbank der Welt und aktualisiert die Suchvolumen regelmäßig.

Mit diesem Tool haben wir die Google-Suchanfragen mit dem größten Suchvolumen („Song + Chords“, „Song + Tabs“, mit verschiedenen Variationen wie „Guitar Tabs“ oder „Guitar Chords“ und die jeweiligen Übersetzungen in jede Sprache) in jedem Land gefunden und miteinander verglichen.

Anschließend wurden die Suchanfragen in das „Keyword Planner Tool“ von Google eingegeben, um das Suchvolumen zu überprüfen. Dies ist das offizielle Tool von Google zur Bestimmung des Suchvolumens.

Teile diesen Artikel

Weitere Beiträge
lyricsmap
News
Eine Analyse: Die beliebtesten Songtexte der Welt
Welche Songtexte werden weltweit am häufigsten gesucht? Dieser Frage sind wir mit intensiven Recherchen nachgegangen und haben analysiert, welche Songtexte auf Google am häufigsten gesucht ...
Read More →
Die besten deutschen Städte für Musiker
Für Künstler
Studie: Die besten deutschen Städte für Musiker
In welcher deutschen Stadt leben Musiker am besten? Wir sind dieser Frage nac hgegange und haben eine Studie der 40 größten Städte in Deutschland gemacht
Read More →
GrafikTopSellers Horizontal OPt
Gear
Rangliste: Welche E-Gitarren haben den besten Wiederverkaufswert?
Wir haben die Gebrauchtpreise der 40 meistverkauften E-Gitarren untersucht und mit den Neupreisen verglichen. Wir zeigen, welche E-Gitarren auf dem Gebrauchtmarkt am meisten und welche ...
Read More →
Map1
Für Künstler
Die beliebtesten Synthesizer-Marken in jedem Land
Wir haben die Google-Suchanfragen der 6 beliebtesten Synthesizer-Marken in 118 Ländern analysiert und die Ergebnisse ausgewertet. Die Ergebnisse sind sehr interessant und zeigen vor allem, ...
Read More →
Die besten Reverb-Pedale
Gear
Die besten Reverb-Pedale für Gitarristen und Produzenten
Ein Reverb-Pedal kann der Gitarre eine unglaubliche Tiefe verleihen und den Klang enorm bereichern. Egal, ob dein Verstärker bereits einen eingebauten Hall hat oder nicht ...
Read More →
Die besten Chorus-Pedale
Gear
Die 8 besten Chorus-Pedale für Gitarristen und Produzenten
Chorus-Pedale waren in den 80er Jahren besonders beliebt und Legenden wie Kurt Kobain oder John Frusciante machten sie in den 90er Jahren noch populärer. Heute ...
Read More →