The 12 major scales easily explained

The major keys are the most frequently used keys in all music. It is very important to know and master them when you compose music. In this article today, we will talk about the 12 major scales.
Table of contents

Every scale in our tonal system, in this case the major scale or Ionic mode, consists of two elements: tonality on the one hand and modality on the other.

The major scale is formed from one note called the tonic. Starting from this tonic, the major scale is built up by a sequence of eight notes with a certain hierarchical structure.

The relationship between these sounds, which we will call degrees because of their functionality, creates a scheme depending on their intervallic distance, which in a way corresponds to the major or ionic mode.

Do you want to produce your own music? Here we explain exactly what you need to do this!

The intervallic distance between all steps is one tone, except between the III-IV step and the VII-VIII step, where it corresponds to a semitone.

This scheme is observed in all major modes, regardless of their pitch. So the tonal scheme within the major scale is as follows:

Tone - Tone - Half Tone - Tone - Tone - Half Tone

If we take one of the 12 notes and use these distances, we get the 12 major scales that we will see below.

They are arranged in the circle of fifths:

Major scale arranged in the circle of fifths
Major scale arranged in the circle of fifths

C Major Scale

C Major Scale

The key C major (also called Do M in Latin notation or Model Scale and C in Anglo-Saxon notation) is based on a major scale on the note C, consisting of the notes C, D, E, F, G, A and B (B). Its key contains no basses or crossings. Its relative minor is A minor and its key of the same name is C minor.

The triad chord: C-E-G

The major chords of its key are C major, F major, and G major, the minor chords are A minor, D minor, and E minor, and B is its diminished chord.

C major is one of the most frequently used keys in music. Many transposing instruments sound in their original key when they play a part written in C major. For example, a Bb clarinet playing a piece written in C major sounds in Bb major. The white keys of the piano correspond to the C major scale.

G Major Scale

G Major Scale
G Major Scale

The key of G major (abbreviated G M in the European system and G in the English system, also Sol M in Latin notation) consists of the G major scale and contains the notes G, A, B, C, D, E, F sharp and G. Its key contains a cross sign (F sharp).

Its relative key is E minor and its key of the same name is G minor.

The chord: G-B-E

In the music of Johann Sebastian Bach, G major is often a key with chained rhythms in 6/8 time, according to Alfred Einstein, and in the Baroque period G major was considered a "blessing key".

Of Domenico Scarlatti's 555 piano sonatas, 69 are in G major, and 12 of Joseph Haydn's 104 symphonies are also in G major. Beethoven, on the other hand, used G major only very rarely; his only major orchestral work in this key was the Piano Concerto No. 4.

In orchestral works in G major, the timpani are usually tuned a fifth apart in G and D, rather than a fourth apart as is often the case in other keys.

Keep reading: All about musical syncopation and how to use it in your compositions.

D Major Scale

D Major Scale
D Major Scale

The key of D major (abbreviated D in the European system and D in the American system) consists of the D major scale and contains the notes D, E, F-sharp, G, A, B, C-sharp, and D. The key contains 2 cross signs. The key contains 2 sharps.

Its relative key is B minor and its key of the same name is D minor.

The triad chord: D-F#-A

The key of D major is very suitable for violin music because of the structure of the instrument, whose four strings are tuned in G, D, A and E. The open strings resonate sympathetically with the D string and produce a particularly brilliant sound. It is no coincidence, then, that many classical composers over the centuries have written their violin concertos in the D major key, among them Mozart (No. 2, 1775, No. 4, 1775), Ludwig van Beethoven (1806), Paganini (No. 1, 1817), Brahms (1878), Tchaikovsky (1878), Prokofiev (No. 1, 1917), Stravinsky (1931) and Korngold (1945). Paganini is one of the composers who often uses this abbreviation in some of his concertos, such as Concerto No. 4 in D minor.

It is very well suited for guitar music. The sixth string (which is normally tuned to E) can be tuned one tone lower (to D), leaving two Ds as open strings. Domenico Scarlatti imitated the mannerisms of the guitar in his piano sonatas, which is perhaps why more than 70 of his 555 sonatas are in D major, more than in any other key.

For some beginning wind players, however, D major is not a very pleasant key, as it is transposed to E major on Bb instruments, and beginner methods generally avoid keys with more than three sharps.

Nevertheless, the Bb clarinet is often used for music in D major and is probably the key with the most sharps that is practical for the instrument. However, there are composers who, when writing a work in D minor with Bb clarinets, replace them with A clarinets when the music changes to D major.

A Major Scale

A Major Scale
A Major Scale

A major (abbreviated LaM in the Latin system and A in the American system) is the key that consists of the major scale A and contains the notes A, B, C sharp, D, E, F sharp, G sharp and A. Its key contains three cross signs (in F, C and G). Its relative key is F-sharp minor and its key of the same name is A minor.

The triad chord: A-C#-E

Although not as rare in symphonic literature as other keys with more crosses, examples of symphonies in A major are not as numerous as those in D major or G major. Beethoven's Symphony No. 7, Bruckner's Symphony No. 6 and Mendelssohn's Symphony No. 4 almost complete the list of symphonies in this key in the Romantic period. Both the Clarinet Concerto and the Clarinet Quintet (both by Mozart) are in A major. In chamber music, A major occurs more frequently. Both Brahms and Franck wrote violin sonatas in A major.

According to Christian Friedrich Daniel Schubart, A major is a suitable key for "Declarations of innocent love, ... the hope of seeing the beloved again after separation, youthful joy and faith in God.". It is used in synaesthesia to represent the colour green.

E Major Scale

E Major Scale
E Major Scale

The key of E major is the major scale of the musical note E and contains the notes E, F sharp, G sharp, A, B, C sharp, D sharp, D sharp and E. Its key contains 4 sharps. Its relative key is C sharp minor and its key of the same name is E minor.

The triad chord: E-G#-B

In the Latin system it is abbreviated Mi M and in the American system it is abbreviated E.

Only two of Haydn's 104 symphonies are in E major, Nos. 12 and 29.

Even in the 19th century, symphonies in this key are rare, Anton Bruckner's Symphony No. 7 being one of the few examples. Two symphonies that begin in D minor and end in E major are the "Gothic" Symphony by Havergal Brian (1876-1972) and Symphony No. 4 by Carl Nielsen (1865-1931). Mahler's Symphony No. 4 begins in G major and ends in E major.

E major is also the key of the last movement of the unfinished symphony by Franz Schubert (1797-1828), Symphony No. 4 by Gustav Mahler (1860-1911), Symphony No. 2 by Sergei Rachmaninov (1873-1943) and Symphony No. 10 by Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975).

This key is difficult for wind instruments, acceptable for the string instruments of the symphony orchestra and very suitable for the guitar. If available, clarinets in A should be used instead of clarinets in B flat. For the former it would be written in G major, for the latter in F sharp major or G flat.

The Greeks ascribed certain qualities to each temperament because each was easily recognizable by the different interval sizes in its scales. Since the use of equal temperament, however, all intervals of all keys are by definition equal, so it makes no sense to speak of the qualities of one key as being different from those of another. Nevertheless, the Russian composer Aleksandr Skriabin (1872-1915) considered E major "the purest of all keys" and chose it to represent the color white in synesthesia.

B major scale

B major scale
B major scale

B major (abbreviation in the Latin system Si Mayor and in the American system B) is the key that consists of the B major scale and contains the notes B, C sharp, D sharp, E, F sharp, G sharp, A sharp and B flat. Its key contains 5 sharps. Its relative key is G-sharp minor, and its key of the same name is B minor.

The triad chord: B-D#-F#

Although B major can easily be considered a strange or difficult scale because of its distance from C major (as can be seen from the circle of fifths) or the large number of sharps, Frédéric Chopin considered it one of the easiest scales to play because the fingers can reach the black keys more easily. He often recommended it to piano beginners and left the C major scale until last for this reason (as it is the most difficult to play fluently due to the lack of black keys).

It is used in synaesthesia to represent the colour blue.

F Sharp Major Scale

F sharp major scale
F sharp major scale

F-sharp major (abbreviation in the Latvian system Fa♯M and in the American system F♯) is the key consisting of the scale F-sharp major and containing the notes F-sharp, G-sharp, A-sharp, B natural, C-sharp, D-sharp, E-sharp, F-sharp. Its key contains 6 sharps. Its relative key is D sharp minor and its key of the same name is F sharp minor. Its enharmonic equivalent is G flat major.

The triad chord: F#-A#-C#

Major scale
Major scale

Domenico Scarlatti composed only two sonatas in this key, K. 318 and K. 319. None of his sonatas are in a key with more crosses. The only symphony in the standard repertoire would be Gustav Mahler's Symphony No. 10, which remained unfinished (although there are some movements from other symphonies in this key). Two of Alexander Scriabin's piano sonatas, Nos. 4 and 5, are in F-sharp major. It is used in synaesthesia to represent the celestial colour.

Keep reading: Pentatonic - Explanation, History and use

C Sharp Major Scale (D Flat Major)

C sharp major scale
C sharp major scale

C-sharp major (abbreviation in the Latin system Do♯M and in the American system C♯) is the key that consists of the major scale C-sharp and contains the notes C-sharp, D-sharp, E-sharp, F-sharp, G-sharp, A-sharp and B-sharp. Its key contains 7 sharps.

Its relative key is A sharp minor and its key of the same name is C sharp minor. Its enharmonic equivalent is D flat major.

The triad chord: C#-E#-G#

D flat major scale
D flat major scale

On a harp tuned in C sharp major, all pedals are in the down position. Since the strings are plucked and shortened, this is the least resonant key of the instrument.

Use in classical music: Although most composers prefer the enharmonic equivalent of D flat major because it has only 5 Bs compared to the 7 sharps of C sharp major, they sometimes choose the key of C sharp major:

  • Johann Sebastian Bach used it for his Prelude and Fugue No. 3 in both books of the Well-Tempered Clavier.
  • The String Quartet No. 3 by Béla Bartók is one of the few in this key.
  • In the Hungarian Rhapsody No. 6, Franz Liszt changes the key at the beginning from D flat major to C sharp major.
  • "Octaves" from the series Six études, op. 5 by Jeanne Demessieux, an organ piece of great difficulty, which will also be heard in C minor.

A Flat Major Scale (G Sharp Major)

A flat major scale
A flat major scale

A-flat major (abbreviation in the Latin system La♭M and in the American system A♭) is the key that consists of the A major scale and contains the notes A-flat, B-flat, C, D, E-flat, F, G, and A. Its key contains 4 basses. Its relative key is F minor and its key of the same name is A flat minor.

The triad chord: Ab-C-Eb

This key is said to convey a sense of peace and serenity and was used extensively by Franz Schubert. 24 of Frédéric Chopin's piano works are in A flat major, more than any other key.

Beethoven also chose A flat major as the key for a slow movement that followed another in C minor, a practice imitated by Anton Bruckner in his first two symphonies in C minor and also by Antonín Dvořák in his only symphony in C minor.

Since A-flat major was not chosen as the central key in 18th-century orchestral works, the passages or movements in this key retained the timpani tunings of the preceding movement. In Beethoven's 5th Symphony, for example, the timpani in the first movement is tuned in C and G. Since the timpani were tuned manually, there was no time to retune them to A flat and E flat in the second movement. In Bruckner's Symphony No. 1, however, the timpani are retuned between the first movement in C minor and the following movement in A flat major.

There are many arrangements of The Star-Spangled Banner in A flat major, and professional singers are expected to sing it in A flat or B flat major at auditions.

Edward Elgar's Symphony No. 1 in A flat major is the only symphony in this key that is part of the orchestra's standard repertoire. A-flat major is the key with the most Bs used by Domenico Scarlatti in his piano sonatas, but only twice: in K. 127 and in K. 130. Both Felix Mendelssohn and John Field wrote a piano concerto in A-flat major (Mendelssohn's concerto is for two pianos), with the horns and trumpets tuned to E-flat major. It is used in synaesthesia to represent the colour violet.

E Flat Major Scale (D Sharp Major)

E flat major scale
E flat major scale

The key of E-flat major (abbreviation in the European system Mi♭M and in the Anglo-Saxon system E♭) is the scale of E-flat major (E-flat, F, G, A-flat, B-flat, C, D and E-flat). Its key contains 3 B-flats.

The triad chord: Eb-G-Bb

This tonality is easier to play on brass instruments, which generally have a timbre associated with the idea of bravery. Beethoven's Heroic Symphony, for example, has such a character. Beethoven also uses this key for his last piano concerto, the Piano Concerto No. 5 "Emperor", which could also be said to have a heroic and solemn character. But there are also sweet and romantic works, such as Anton Bruckner's Symphony No. 4 ("Romantic") or Alexandr Glazunov's grandiose Concerto for Saxophone and String Orchestra. Mozart uses this key extensively in various piano concertos or, for example, in his majestic Symphony No. 39, and it is also the main key (with which he opens and closes the opera "The Magic Flute").

B Flat Major Scale (A Sharp Major)

B major scale
B major scale

The key of B major (abbreviated Si♭M in the Latin system and B♭M in the English system) is the B flat major scale and contains the notes B, C, D, E-flat, F, G, A and B-flat. Its key contains 2 B-flats. Its relative key is G minor and its key of the same name is B flat minor.

The triad chord: Bb-D-F

Note that in German the B-signed note is "B" and the natural is "H". In contrast, in the English system the B is naturally "B" and the B is "B♭".

B flat is a pleasant key for most wind instruments, especially for woodwind instruments like the B clarinet and the B trumpet. It is an easy key for wind instruments because most of them transpose to B flat, e.g. the saxophones, clarinets (except A), the high horn in B flat, etc., which transpose to B flat (in which case they read the notes in C major) or E flat (in which case they read the notes in F major). In some cases, like the horn in F, they transpose to G major.

This key is often used in salsa and merengue, where many of these wind instruments are used. Many works written or arranged for symphonic orchestra use the key of B flat or its related minor for the above reason.

Symphony No. 98 by Joseph Haydn (1732-1809) is the first symphony he wrote in this key and also includes trumpet and timpani parts. Five of the piano concertos by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791) are in B flat major.

In Baroque music - in which equal temperament was not yet used and therefore each key had its own character - it was called the key of progress and the Renaissance because it is almost always above G minor. At various moments in the history of piano concertos in the Baroque period, the key of B flat major was the key of progress and the Renaissance.

At various times in musical history it has been used for toasts, such as the Libiamo from La Traviata and the Brindis from the Spanish opera Marina. The tavern songs of the baroque composer Henry Purcell are also composed in this key.

In synaesthesia it is usually used for the colour sepia.

F Major Scale

F Major Scale
F Major Scale

The F major scale (abbreviated Fa M in the Latin system and F in the English system) F, G, A B, C, D, E, F. Its key contains 1 B sign. Its relative key is D minor and its key of the same name is F minor.

The triad chord: F-A-C

F major is the natural key of the English horn, the basset horn, the horn in F, the trumpet in F and the Wagner tuba. Music in F major for these instruments is therefore written in C major. Most of it sounds a fifth higher than written, with the exception of the trumpet in F, which sounds a fourth higher.

Of the six overtures Francesco Maria Veracini wrote for the Prince of Dresden, many are in F major or B flat major because the wind instruments in the Prince's orchestra were limited. Even in F, there is an arpeggio in F major (which is formed from a major third, a minor third and a pure fourth).

Beethoven wrote his Symphony No. 6 op. 68, "Pastorale", and his Symphony No. 8 op. 93 in F major. Vivaldi used this key for the "Autumn" of the Four Seasons, RV 293. Brahms' Symphony No. 3 is also in F major.

Share this article

We independently research, test, review and recommend the best products. If you buy something through our links, we may receive a commission.

More articles
The best reverb pedals
Gear
The best reverb pedals for guitarists and producers
A reverb pedal can add incredible depth to the guitar and enrich the sound enormously. Regardless of whether your amplifier already has a built-in reverb or not ...
Read More →
The best chorus pedals
Gear
The 8 best chorus pedals for guitarists and producers
Chorus pedals were particularly popular in the 80s and legends like Kurt Kobain or John Frusciante made them even more popular in the 90s. Today ...
Read More →
The best distortion pedals
Gear
The best distortion/overdrive pedals for electric guitar
Today, distortion pedals are more popular than ever - in the digital age, where many guitarists play without amplifiers or with transistor amplifiers, distortion pedals are used very frequently, ...
Read More →
The best laptops for music production
Gear
The 12 best laptops for music production
For a long time, it was thought that you absolutely had to have an Apple laptop to produce music on the go - this is no longer the case. Even if ...
Read More →
The best delay pedals
Gear
The best delay pedals in 2024
Delay pedals are among the favourite pedals of guitarists - a delay effect creates depth and an atmospheric sound that cannot be achieved by other means. ...
Read More →
Learn to read sheet music on drums
Uncategorized
How to read drum notation
Percussionists have their own sheet music - it is particularly important when learning drums in a music school. But also for drummers who play in many different ...
Read More →

Was sind Dur Tonleiter? Alles, was du darüber wissen muss

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Jede Tonleiter in unserem Tonsystem, in diesem Fall die Dur Tonleiter oder der Ionische Modus, besteht aus zwei Elementen: einerseits aus der Tonalität und andererseits aus der Modalität.

Die Dur-Tonart wird aus einer Note gebildet, die Tonika genannt wird. Ausgehend von dieser Tonika wird die Dur Tonleiter durch eine Abfolge von acht Tönen mit einer bestimmten hierarchischen Struktur aufgebaut.

Die Beziehung zwischen diesen Klängen, die wir aufgrund ihre Funktionalität als Grade bezeichnen werden, schafft je nach ihrem intervallischen Abstand ein Schema, das in gewisser Weise dem Dur- oder ionischen Modus entspricht.

Der intervallische Abstand zwischen allen Stufen beträgt einen Ton , außer zwischen der III-IV Stufe und der VII-VIII Stufe, wo er einem Halbton entspricht.

Dieses Schema wird in allen wichtigen Verkehrsträgern beachtet, unabhängig von ihrer Tonlage. Das Tonschema innerhalb der Durtonleiter sieht also folgendermaßen aus:

Ton – Ton – Halbton – TonTonTonHalbton

Wenn wir eine der 12 Noten nehmen und diese Abstände verwenden, erhalten wir die 12 Dur Tonleitern, die wir weiter unten sehen werden.

Sie sind im Quintenzirkel angeordnet:

Dur Tonleiter angeordnet im Quintenzirkel
Dur Tonleiter angeordnet im Quintenzirkel

C Dur Tonleiter

C Dur Tonleiter
Was sind Dur Tonleiter? Alles, was du darüber wissen muss 16

Die Tonart C-Dur (auch Do M in lateinischer Notation oder auch Modellskala und C in angelsächsischer Notation genannt) basiert auf einer Dur Tonleiter auf der Note C, die aus den Noten C, D, E, F, F, G, A und B (H) besteht. Seine Tonart enthält keine Bässe oder Kreuzungen. Sein relatives Moll ist a-Moll und seine gleichnamige Tonart ist c-Moll.

Der Dreiklang-Akkord: C-E-G

Aufgrund seiner Noten sind die Dur-Akkorde seiner Tonart C-Dur, F-Dur und G-Dur’, die Moll-Akkorde sind A-Moll, D-Moll und E-Moll’, und B ist sein verminderter Akkord.

C-Dur ist eine der am häufigsten verwendeten Tonarten in der Musik. Viele transponierende Instrumente klingen in ihrer ursprünglichen Tonart, wenn sie eine in C-Dur geschriebene Stimme spielen. Eine B-Klarinette, die ein in C-Dur geschriebenes Stück spielt, klingt zum Beispiel in B-Dur. Die weißen Tasten des Klaviers entsprechen der C-Dur-Tonleiter.

G Dur Tonleiter

G Dur Tonleiter
G Dur Tonleiter

Die Tonart G-Dur (im europäischen System mit G M und im englischen System mit G abgekürzt, auch Sol M in lateinischer Notation) besteht aus der G-Dur-Tonleiter und enthält die Noten G, A, B, C, D, E, E, Fis und G. Seine Tonart enthält ein Kreuzzeichen (Fis).

Seine relative Tonart ist e-Moll und seine gleichnamige Tonart ist g-Moll.

Der Dreiklang-Akkord: G-B-E

In der Musik von Johann Sebastian Bach ist G-Dur laut Alfred Einstein oft eine Tonart mit verketteten Rhythmen im 6/8-Takt, und in der Barockzeit galt G-Dur als “Segenstonart”.

Von Domenico Scarlattis 555 Klaviersonaten stehen 69 in G-Dur, und 12 von Joseph Haydns 104 Sinfonien sind ebenfalls in G-Dur. Beethoven hingegen verwendete G-Dur nur sehr selten, sein einziges großes Orchesterwerk in dieser Tonart war das Klavierkonzert Nr. 4.

Bei Orchesterwerken in G-Dur werden die Pauken in der Regel in G und D mit einem Abstand von einer Quinte gestimmt und nicht wie in anderen Tonarten oft mit einer Quarte.

D Dur Tonleiter

D Dur Tonleiter
D Dur Tonleiter

Die Tonart D-Dur (abgekürzt D im europäischen System und D im amerikanischen System) besteht aus der D-Dur Tonleiter und enthält die Noten D, E, Fis, G, A, B, B, Cis und D. Die Tonart enthält 2 Kreuzzeichen.

Seine relative Tonart ist h-Moll und seine gleichnamige Tonart ist d-Moll.

Der Dreiklang-Akkord: D-Fis-A

Die Tonart D-Dur eignet sich aufgrund der Struktur des Instruments, dessen vier Saiten in G, D, A und E gestimmt sind, sehr gut für Geigenmusik. Die offenen Saiten schwingen sympathisch mit der D-Saite mit und erzeugen einen besonders brillanten Klang. Es ist also kein Zufall, dass viele klassische Komponisten im Laufe der Jahrhunderte ihre Violinkonzerte in der D Dur Tonart geschrieben haben, darunter Mozart (Nr. 2, 1775, Nr. 4, 1775), Ludwig van Beethoven (1806), Paganini (Nr. 1, 1817), Brahms (1878), Tschaikowsky (1878), Prokofjew (Nr. 1, 1917), Strawinsky (1931) und Korngold (1945). Paganini ist einer der Komponisten, der diese Abkürzung oft in einigen seiner Konzerte verwendet, wie im Konzert Nr. 4 in d-Moll.

Sie ist für Gitarrenmusik sehr gut geeignet. Die sechste Saite (die normalerweise auf E gestimmt ist) kann einen Ton tiefer gestimmt werden (auf D), sodass zwei Ds als offene Saiten zur Verfügung stehen. Domenico Scarlatti ahmte die Manierismen der Gitarre in seinen Klaviersonaten nach, was vielleicht der Grund dafür ist, dass mehr als 70 seiner 555 Sonaten in D-Dur stehen, mehr als in jeder anderen Tonart.

Für manche Bläseranfänger ist D-Dur jedoch keine sehr angenehme Tonart, da sie auf B-Instrumenten nach E-Dur transponiert wird, und bei Anfängermethoden werden im Allgemeinen Tonarten mit mehr als drei Kreuzzeichen vermieden.

Trotzdem wird die B-Klarinette häufig für Musik in D-Dur verwendet und ist wahrscheinlich die Tonart mit den meisten Schärfen, die für das Instrument praktisch ist. Es gibt jedoch Komponisten, die, wenn sie ein Werk in d-Moll mit B-Klarinetten schreiben, diese durch A-Klarinetten ersetzen, wenn die Musik nach D-Dur wechselt.

A Dur Tonleiter

A Dur Tonleiter
A Dur Tonleiter

A-Dur (im lateinischem System LaM und im amerikanischen System A abgekürzt) ist die Tonart, die aus der Durtonleiter A besteht und die Noten A, B, Cis, D, E, Fis, Gis und A enthält. Seine Tonart enthält drei Kreuzzeichen (in F, C und G). Seine relative Tonart ist fis-Moll und seine gleichnamige Tonart ist a-Moll.

Der Dreiklang-Akkord: A-Cis-E

Obwohl sie in der symphonischen Literatur nicht so selten sind wie andere Tonarten mit mehr Kreuzen, sind die Beispiele für Symphonien in A-Dur nicht so zahlreich wie die in D-Dur oder G-Dur. Beethovens Sinfonie Nr. 7, Bruckners Sinfonie Nr. 6 und Mendelssohns Sinfonie Nr. 4 machen die Liste der Sinfonien in dieser Tonart in der Romantik fast komplett. Sowohl das Klarinettenkonzert als auch das Klarinettenquintett (beide von Mozart) stehen in A-Dur. In der Kammermusik kommt A-Dur häufiger vor. Sowohl Brahms als auch Franck schrieben Violinsonaten in A-Dur.

Laut Christian Friedrich Daniel Schubart ist A-Dur eine geeignete Tonart für “Erklärungen unschuldiger Liebe, … die Hoffnung, den Geliebten nach der Trennung wiederzusehen, jugendliche Freude und den Glauben an Gott“. Sie wird in der Synästhesie verwendet, um die Farbe Grün darzustellen.

E Dur Tonleiter

E Dur Tonleiter
E Dur Tonleiter

Die Tonart E-Dur ist die Dur Tonleiter der Musiknote E und enthält die Noten E, Fis, Gis, A, B, Cis, Dis, Dis und E. Seine Tonart enthält 4 Kreuze. Seine relative Tonart ist cis-Moll und seine gleichnamige Tonart ist e-Moll.

Der Dreiklang-Akkord: E-Gis-H

Im lateinischen System wird er mit Mi M abgekürzt und im amerikanischen System mit E.

Nur zwei von Haydns 104 Sinfonien stehen in E-Dur, die Nr. 12 und 29.

Selbst im 19. Jahrhundert sind Sinfonien in dieser Tonart selten, wobei Anton Bruckners Sinfonie Nr. 7 eines der wenigen Beispiele ist. Zwei Sinfonien, die in d-Moll beginnen und in E-Dur enden, sind die “Gotische” Sinfonie von Havergal Brian (1876-1972) und die Sinfonie Nr. 4 von Carl Nielsen (1865-1931). Mahlers Symphonie Nr. 4 beginnt in G-Dur und endet in E-Dur.

Außerdem ist E-Dur die Tonart des letzten Satzes der unvollendeten Sinfonie von Franz Schubert (1797-1828), der Sinfonie Nr. 4 von Gustav Mahler (1860-1911), der Sinfonie Nr. 2 von Sergej Rachmaninow (1873-1943) und der Sinfonie Nr. 10 von Dmitri Schostakowitsch (1906-1975).

Diese Tonart ist schwierig für Blasinstrumente, akzeptabel für die Streichinstrumente des Sinfonieorchesters und sehr gut geeignet für die Gitarre. Falls vorhanden, sollten Klarinetten in A statt Klarinetten in B verwendet werden. Für erstere würde es in G-Dur geschrieben werden, für letztere in Fis-Dur oder Ges.

Die Griechen schrieben jedem Modus bestimmte Eigenschaften zu, weil jeder aufgrund der unterschiedlichen Intervallgrößen in ihren Skalen leicht zu erkennen war. Seit der Verwendung der gleichschwebenden Stimmung sind jedoch alle Intervalle aller Tonarten per Definition gleich, sodass es keinen Sinn macht, von Qualitäten einer Tonart zu sprechen, die sich von denen einer anderen unterscheiden. Trotzdem hielt der russische Komponist Aleksandr Skriabin (1872-1915) E-Dur für “die reinste aller Tonarten” und wählte sie, um die Farbe Weiß in der Synästhesie darzustellen.

H Dur Tonleiter

H Dur Tonleiter
H Dur Tonleiter

H-Dur (Abkürzung im lateinischen System Si Mayor und im amerikanischen System B) ist die Tonart, die aus der H-Dur Tonleiter besteht und die Noten H, Cis, Dis, E, Fis, Gis, Ais und H enthält. Seine Tonart enthält 5 Kreuze. Seine relative Tonart ist gis-Moll, und seine gleichnamige Tonart ist h-Moll.

Der Dreiklang-Akkord: H-Dis-Fis

Obwohl H-Dur aufgrund seiner Entfernung zu C-Dur (wie man am Quintenzirkel sehen kann) oder der großen Anzahl an Kreuztönen leicht als seltsame oder schwierige Tonleiter angesehen werden kann, hielt Frédéric Chopin sie für eine der am einfachsten zu spielenden Tonleitern, da die Finger die schwarzen Tasten leichter erreichen können. Er empfahl sie oft Klavieranfängern und ließ die C-Dur-Tonleiter aus diesem Grund bis zum Schluss stehen (da sie aufgrund der fehlenden schwarzen Tasten am schwierigsten flüssig zu spielen ist).

Es wird in der Synästhesie verwendet, um die Farbe Blau darzustellen.

Fis Dur Tonleiter (Ges Dur)

Fis Dur Tonleiter
Fis Dur Tonleiter

Fis-Dur (Abkürzung im latenischen System Fa♯M und im amerikanischen System F♯) ist die Tonart, die aus der Skala Fis-Dur besteht und die Töne Fis, Gis, Ais, Ais, B natürlich, Cis, Dis, Eis, Fis, Fis enthält. Seine Tonart enthält 6 Kreuze. Seine relative Tonart ist dis-Moll und seine gleichnamige Tonart ist fis-Moll. Seine enharmonische Entsprechung ist Ges-Dur.

Der Dreiklang-Akkord: Fis-Ais-Cis

Ges Dur Tonleiter
Ges Dur Tonleiter

Domenico Scarlatti komponierte nur zwei Sonaten in dieser Tonart, KV 318 und KV 319. Keine seiner Sonaten steht in einer Tonart mit mehr Kreuzen. Die einzige Sinfonie im Standardrepertoire wäre Gustav Mahlers Sinfonie Nr. 10, die unvollendet blieb (obwohl es einige Sätze aus anderen Sinfonien in dieser Tonart gibt). Zwei der Klaviersonaten von Alexander Skrjabin, Nr. 4 und 5, stehen in Fis-Dur. Sie wird in der Synästhesie verwendet, um die himmlische Farbe darzustellen.

Cis Dur Tonleiter (Des Dur)

Cis Dur Tonleiter
Cis Dur Tonleiter

Cis-Dur (Abkürzung im lateinischen System Do♯M und im amerikanischen System C♯) ist die Tonart, die aus der Durtonleiter Cis besteht und die Noten Cis, Dis, Eis, Fis, Gis, Ais und Bis enthält. Seine Tonart enthält 7 Kreuze.

Seine relative Tonart ist ais-Moll und seine gleichnamige Tonart ist cis-Moll. Seine enharmonische Entsprechung ist Des-Dur.

Der Dreiklang-Akkord: Cis-Eis-Gis

Des Dur Tonleiter
Des Dur Tonleiter

Bei einer Harfe, die in Cis-Dur gestimmt ist, stehen alle Pedale in der unteren Position. Da die Saiten gezupft und verkürzt werden, ist dies die am wenigsten resonante Tonart des Instruments.

Verwendung in der klassischen Musik: Obwohl die meisten Komponisten das enharmonische Äquivalent Des-Dur bevorzugen, weil es nur 5 Bs im Vergleich zu den 7 Kreuzen von Cis-Dur hat, wählen sie manchmal die Tonart Cis-Dur:

  • Johann Sebastian Bach verwendete es für sein Präludium und die Fuge Nr. 3 in beiden Büchern des Wohltemperierten Klaviers.
  • Das Streichquartett Nr. 3 von Béla Bartók ist eines der wenigen in dieser Tonart.
  • In der Ungarischen Rhapsodie Nr. 6 ändert Franz Liszt die Tonart am Anfang von Des-Dur nach Cis-Dur.
  • “Octaves” aus der Reihe Six études, op. 5 von Jeanne Demessieux, ein Orgelstück von großem Schwierigkeitsgrad, das außerdem in c-Moll erklingen wird.

As Dur Tonleiter (Gis Dur)

As Dur Tonleiter
As Dur Tonleiter

As-Dur (Abkürzung im lateinischen System La♭M und im amerikanischen System A♭) ist die Tonart, die aus der A Dur Tonleiter besteht und die Noten As, B, C, D, Es, F, G und A enthält. Seine Tonart enthält 4 Bässe. Seine relative Tonart ist f-Moll und seine gleichnamige Tonart ist as-Moll.

Der Dreiklang-Akkord: As-C-Es

Dieser Tonart wird ein Gefühl des Friedens und der Gelassenheit nachgesagt und wurde von Franz Schubert ausgiebig verwendet. 24 der Klavierwerke von Frédéric Chopin stehen in As-Dur, mehr als jede andere Tonart.

Beethoven wählte außerdem As-Dur als Tonart für einen langsamen Satz, der auf einen anderen in c-Moll folgte, eine Praxis, die Anton Bruckner in seinen ersten beiden Sinfonien in c-Moll und auch Antonín Dvořák in seiner einzigen Sinfonie in c-Moll nachahmten.

Da As-Dur in Orchesterwerken des 18. Jahrhunderts nicht als zentrale Tonart gewählt wurde, behielten die Passagen oder Sätze in dieser Tonart die Paukenstimmungen des vorangegangenen Satzes bei. In Beethovens 5. Sinfonie zum Beispiel ist die Pauke im ersten Satz in C und G gestimmt. Da die Pauken manuell gestimmt wurden, blieb keine Zeit, sie im zweiten Satz auf As und Es umzustimmen. In Bruckners Symphonie Nr. 1 werden die Pauken jedoch zwischen dem ersten Satz in c-Moll und dem folgenden Satz in As-Dur umgestimmt.

Es gibt viele Bearbeitungen von The Star-Spangled Banner in As-Dur, und von professionellen Sängerinnen und Sängern wird erwartet, dass sie es beim Vorsingen in As- oder B-Dur singen.

Edward Elgars Sinfonie Nr. 1 in As-Dur ist die einzige Sinfonie in dieser Tonart, die zum Standardrepertoire des Orchesters gehört. As-Dur ist die Tonart mit den meisten Bs, die Domenico Scarlatti in seinen Klaviersonaten verwendet hat, allerdings nur zweimal: in KV 127 und in KV 130. Sowohl Felix Mendelssohn als auch John Field haben ein Klavierkonzert in As-Dur geschrieben (Mendelssohns Konzert ist für zwei Klaviere), bei dem die Hörner und Trompeten in Es-Dur gestimmt sind. Es wird in der Synästhesie verwendet, um die Farbe Violett darzustellen.

Es Dur Tonleiter (Dis Dur)

Es Dur Tonleiter
Es Dur Tonleiter

Die Tonart Es-Dur (Abkürzung im europäischen System Mi♭M und im angelsächsischen System E♭) ist die Es-Dur-Tonleiter (Es, F, G, As, B, C, D und Es). Seine Tonart enthält 3 B-Zeichen.

Der Dreiklang-Akkord: Es-G-B

Diese Tonalität ist auf Blechblasinstrumenten leichter zu spielen, die im Allgemeinen eine Klangfarbe haben, die mit der Vorstellung von Tapferkeit in Verbindung gebracht wird. Beethovens heroische Sinfonie hat zum Beispiel einen solchen Charakter. Beethoven verwendet diese Tonart auch für sein letztes Klavierkonzert, das Klavierkonzert Nr. 5 “Kaiser”, von dem man ebenfalls sagen könnte, dass es einen heroischen und feierlichen Charakter hat. Aber es gibt auch süße und romantische Werke, wie Anton Bruckners Symphonie Nr. 4 (“Romantic”) oder Alexandr Glazunovs grandioses Konzert für Saxophon und Streichorchester. Mozart verwendet diese Tonart ausgiebig in verschiedenen Klavierkonzerten oder zum Beispiel in seiner majestätischen Sinfonie Nr. 39, und sie ist auch die Haupttonart (mit der er die Oper “Die Zauberflöte” eröffnet und schließt).

B Dur Tonleiter (Ais Dur)

B Dur Tonleiter
B Dur Tonleiter

Die Tonart B-Dur (abgekürzt Si♭M im lateinischen System und B♭M im englischen System) ist die B-Dur-Tonleiter und enthält die Noten B, C, D, Es, F, G, A und B. Seine Tonart enthält 2 B-Zeichen. Seine relative Tonart ist g-Moll und seine gleichnamige Tonart ist b-Moll.

Der Dreiklang-Akkord: B-D-F

Beachte, dass die Note mit B-Zeichen im Deutschen “B” heißt und die natürliche “H” ist. Im Gegensatz dazu ist im englischen System das B natürlich “B” und das B ist “B♭”.

B-Dur ist eine angenehme Tonart für die meisten Blasinstrumente, besonders für Holzblasinstrumente wie die B-Klarinette und die B-Trompete. Es ist eine einfache Tonart für Blasinstrumente, weil die meisten von ihnen nach B transponieren, z.B. die Saxophone, Klarinetten (außer A), das hohe Horn in B usw., die nach B (in diesem Fall lesen sie die Noten in C-Dur) oder Es (in diesem Fall lesen sie die Noten in F-Dur) transponieren. In einigen Fällen, wie dem Horn in F, transponieren sie nach G-Dur.

Diese Tonart wird häufig in Salsa und Merengue verwendet, wo viele dieser Blasinstrumente zum Einsatz kommen. Viele Werke, die für ein symphonisches Orchester geschrieben oder arrangiert wurden, verwenden aus dem oben genannten Grund die Tonart B oder ihr verwandtes Moll.

Die Sinfonie Nr. 98 von Joseph Haydn (1732-1809) ist die erste Sinfonie, die er in dieser Tonart schrieb und die auch Trompeten- und Paukenstimmen enthält. Fünf der Klavierkonzerte von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791) stehen in B-Dur.

In der Barockmusik – in der die gleichstufige Stimmung noch nicht verwendet wurde und daher jede Tonart einen eigenen Charakter hatte – wurde sie als Tonart des Fortschritts und der Renaissance bezeichnet, weil sie fast immer über g-Moll liegt. In verschiedenen Momenten der Geschichte der Klavierkonzerte in der Barockzeit war die Tonart B-Dur die Tonart des Fortschritts und der Renaissance.

Zu verschiedenen Zeiten in der Musikgeschichte wurde er für Trinksprüche verwendet, wie zum Beispiel der Libiamo aus La Traviata und der Brindis aus der spanischen Oper Marina. Auch die Tavernenlieder des Barockkomponisten Henry Purcell sind in dieser Tonart komponiert.

In der Synästhesie wird es üblicherweise für die Farbe Sepia verwendet.

F Dur Tonleiter

F Dur Tonleiter
F Dur Tonleiter

Die F-Dur Tonleiter (abgekürzt Fa M im lateinischen System und F im englischen System) F, G, A B, C, D, E, F. Seine Tonart enthält 1 B-Zeichen. Seine relative Tonart ist d-Moll und seine gleichnamige Tonart ist f-Moll.

Der Dreiklang-Akkord: F-A-C

F-Dur ist die Naturtonart des Englischhorns, des Bassetthorns, des Horns in F, der Trompete in F und der Wagnertuba. Die Musik in F-Dur für diese Instrumente ist also in C-Dur geschrieben. Das meiste davon klingt eine Quinte höher als geschrieben, mit Ausnahme der Trompete in F, die eine Quarte höher klingt.

Von den sechs Ouvertüren, die Francesco Maria Veracini für den Prinzen von Dresden schrieb, stehen viele in F-Dur oder B-Dur, weil die Blasinstrumente im Orchester des Prinzen begrenzt waren. Auch in F gibt es ein Arpeggio in F-Dur (das aus einer großen Terz, einer kleinen Terz und einer reinen Quarte gebildet wird).

Beethoven schrieb seine Symphonie Nr. 6 op. 68, “Pastorale”, und seine Symphonie Nr. 8 op. 93 in F-Dur. Vivaldi verwendete diese Tonart für den “Herbst” der Vier Jahreszeiten, RV 293. Auch Brahms’ Symphonie Nr. 3 steht in F-Dur.

Wood and Fire on Social media

Producer aufgepasst!

Die ersten 500 Leute, die sich für den Newsletter abonnieren, erhalten dieses einzigartige Sample Pack sofort kostenlos!

Producer aufgepasst!

Ich habe meinen Moog Subsequent 37 aufgenommen und einen einzigartigen Bass 808 Sample Pack erstellt.

Die ersten 500 Leute, die sich für den Newsletter abonnieren, erhalten den sofort kostenlos! Und falls du diese Nachricht hier siehst heißt das, dass es noch Welche gibt ;)

Ich habe meinen Moog Subsequent 37 aufgenommen und einen einzigartigen Bass 808 Sample Pack erstellt.

Die ersten 500 Leute, die sich für den Newsletter abonnieren, erhalten den sofort kostenlos! Und falls du diese Nachricht hier siehst, heißt das, dass es noch Welche gibt ;)

Open chat